1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is better in terms of gaming, and general one off rendering?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by woodc, Nov 6, 2012.

  1. woodc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bucks, United Kingdom
    i have the i5 3570k @4.6ghz, i was looking at the i7 3770k @3.4Ghz.
    in terms of my overclock, what would run the system better, the i5 or the i7?
    Thanks
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,447 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,997
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Multicore rendering I would choose the 3770K just because of HT
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    How often do you render, if its once in a blue moon save money and go i5

    If its a weekly/daily thing then i7 for the HT like brandon said.
  4. woodc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bucks, United Kingdom
    i think the price difference is around £130, would paying an extra £130 benefit me for what i do on the computer. i wont be doing to much rendering. just a 10 second animation or something, and the rest will be mostly internet and for new and upcoming games.
    so would paying the £130 on top of what i already paid for it make a noticeable difference from day to day?
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,474 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    day to day for most games or trolling the interwebs, that money will give you daily e-peen over the i5, that is about it!
  6. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Nope

    The only difference between an i5 and i7 is HyperThreading.. Which only effects rendering and things of that type. Doesnt effect games or regular computer use.
    woodc says thanks.
  7. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Gaming these days also includes recording video game footage. The i7 would be superior for that application.
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,896 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,477
    i7 for any rendering. Don't waste your time with an i5.
  9. woodc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bucks, United Kingdom
    Considering that i dont do much rendering, and would only use to game and internet, im taking from what you said that the i7 would benefit in places where design and animation are used a lot. i think the i5 will best suit what i use the computer for. thanks
  10. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Except no... FRAPS doesnt support ht.. and ingame (built in) recording doesnt either...
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,441 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    873
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    More is always better...
  12. woodc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bucks, United Kingdom
    i intend to do a little bit of recording, but i wont do it regularly and if an i3 540 which a family member owns can record fine, i think that the i5 would be much better that that. ill save the extra £130 but if i feel that i need to upgrade in the future, ill have no problem with that.
  13. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    :wtf: bro read some moar "set processor affinity (Fraps is multi-threaded, but only uses one available thread by default)"

    This is valuable experience you have. One of my experiences is that in some games I have played it is so CPU intensive that I just need more cores/threads/power to record. Ex. Dark Souls.

    Take into consideration your costs too. If i5 is a happy medium go for it. I use one just fine, but I do so much recording I would rather have the i7.
    DRDNA says thanks.
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,447 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,997
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    From what I have seen thought is that "set affinity" sets all CPU's by default but the program chooses to only use one.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. woodc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bucks, United Kingdom
    because you do so much recording, i guess you would be able to notice the difference, but when you do record say if you record a couple times a week, would i notice whether it is recording with a bit of lag or anything? not that it would bother me, because if there is and it runs slowly, which im sure it wont, i wouldnt be too fussed about recording. its only an idea i had, i will be able to record, so i might as well. its not too much of a bigger deal, its just it would be nice to know if i can record well
  16. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Dont call me bro... and Fraps may be multi threaded.. but it doesnt use more then one core.. so no..

    And video recording slowdown, 90% of it is hard drive related. Most users record to the same HD that the OS and game are on so it causes a slowdown. Record to a seperate HD and this problem is gone.
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,896 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,477
    Well good luck man. I personally like to have the higher end of most CPU families as its better to be over powered then under powered. :toast:

    But I think you will be fine! Enjoy.
    woodc says thanks.
  18. woodc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bucks, United Kingdom
    i have enough hard drives to record separately onto. its just that fraps records them uncompressed, and i have no idea how to compress them, still at the same quality, able to be put online. what program would you suggest for this?
  19. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    This is not much of an upgrade unless you have specific needs.
  20. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    ShiB I'm sorry to have offended you with the 'bro'ing. I assume now you have a bit of a short fuse.

    Noted.

    I know folks who encode while recording raw in fraps and stream video. They manage all of this by delegating processor resources in windows. so... yes? It's a bunch of what-ifs and I made my recommendations based on real experience with recording/encoding. You are right about the HDD being responsible for catching the video data and becoming a causing slow-down, so I guess drinks are in order?

    I apologize for making my previous, rather arrogant looking, comment without providing adequate context as to why I was adamant on pointing out multi-thread support.
    Aquinus says thanks.
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,956 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,925
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Actually, if you think for a second, capturing 24 FPS at 1080p then compressing it take a lot of compute power. Hell, even not compressing it takes a lot of CPU power. I've given this a try since I have this nice, fast, SSD RAID-0 that does somewhere between 900MB/s and 1GB/s and I noticed that it still didn't record smoothly. So I'm disagreeing with you on that note. It takes a lot of CPU power to capture video while rendering at high resolutions, and even with an i7 3820, it stresses my CPU pretty hard with compressed and uncompressed video.

    Not to say drive I/O doesn't matter, but it definitely isn't the only limiting factor and CPU has a lot more to do with it than you think. I just thought I should throw that out there. Cheers! :toast:

    +1: Don't jump on that drink yet, I think you know exactly what you're talking about.
    DRDNA says thanks.
  22. EasyTomatoe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    27 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philippines
    well all things are cool, if you don't have an i5 then just don't buy the i7 unless you really need to then just build a whole new system with the i7 makes you more I-peen

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page