1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is holding my gaming performance back?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by antony209494, Feb 20, 2014.

  1. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    OK so I had 2 6970s in crossfire for a pretty long time and I always had these performance problems in games like Far Cry 3 Battlefield 3 and 4. FPS wasn't as high as I read in reviews and I had FPS dropping to 10-20 every about 10 seconds. Today I installed my new Asus 290x only to discover the same shit performance (well not exactly shitty performance-games are playable but I am not getting the most of my GPU power for sure and these FPS drops are annoying and cost deaths in BF!!!).

    Here is part of the review:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/R9_290X_Direct_Cu_II_OC/9.html

    As you can see on 1080 it's about 75 FPS with 4xAA

    I don't use AA at all and am averaging about 40 FPS in BF4 with some wild drops to 15-20 from time to time which is exactly the same as with the 2 6970s. So I spend 620 euros only to discover that the GPU wasn't the problem.

    So it makes sense to look at the CPU now. While the 8120 is not the best CPU out there for sure do you think it should bottleneck that much? > Possible solution: overclocking??? Sadly I know almost nothing about OCing CPUs and I read that the FX were made for overclocking.

    Buying another CPU isn't exactly an option for me now after having spent that much on the 290X.

    What are your thoughts? Remember to check my specs.

    Thank you!!!!
  2. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    190 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Near North Pole
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Oh yes I forgot to mention that I am already using 14.1 and Mantle with the exact same results as I mentioned above. Mantle makes no difference for me.
  4. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    362 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Mantle doesn't yet support Crossfire to my knowledge.
  5. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I don't have crossfire anymore. I have a single R9 290x!
  6. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Try overclocking that CPU and your RAM. Do a small/modest overclock and if you see good results then you can decide on whether you want to really push that CPU. Those chips are easy to OC. Just up the multiplier 1x.
  7. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,761 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2014
  8. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I literally have no idea how to do that. I'm a complete noob to overclocking.
  9. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,761 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    Out of curiosity are you running your harddrives in Raid 0?
  10. jcgeny

    jcgeny

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    155 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    you should update cpu to have More Mhz and goes up to 16 Go
    may be you could add a ssd where you will install games

    may be you can go back to your hd 6k and get a refund of 620 to buy the above ?
    hd5k or 6k or even r9 are all dx11 , the big difference is only the tesselation aka the number of triangles cards can handle

    [ reinstalling windows can help to have better fps ]
  11. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    No using 2 standard SATA HDDs 1 TB each.
  12. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,467 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    cpu bottleneck?

    hdd bottleneck?


    as said install location and cpu speed are the most likely causes, that being said that platform will still have its own limitation's.
  13. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    sttubs says thanks.
  14. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Yes those were my initial thoughts too. Problem is: I don't know shit about overclocking and I have no money for an SSD :D!
  15. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Have you benched your system to see how it performs? Maybe it is only BF4 that is having these issues. As Hilux mentioned core parking could be a good solution. I haven't heard these issues with AMD rigs, but older Intels had issues for a while.
  16. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    No. As I said in my question I had several games not performing as they should according BF3 and 4 and Far cry 3 being just some examples. far cry 3 barely pulls a playable 40 FPS on max settings. The 290X should laugh at this game on this resolution. Same for bf3 and 4.
  17. Blín D'ñero

    Blín D'ñero

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    231 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I am sure your WD Green is holding back performance. That is a powersaving hdd for storage, NOT for gaming. Black is at least 40% faster than the WD Caviar Green.
    Buy and install WD Black.

    Disabling Core Parking is for Intel Quad CPU's with hyperthreading. Scratch that. No mention of Intel/AMD specific, so it's general:
    Source
    To disable Core Parking:
    You should bench your system to see how it performs. After you bought and installed 2 WD Black 1 TB hdds, one as your system- and second as your games drive.

    Install your OS onto the first partition (120 GB) of HDD 1, use the rest as a second partition for archive/storage.
    Install your games onto HDD 2. You will never get it filled. Or partition it in two: first partition 600 GB (for your games), the rest (2nd partition) for archive/storage.
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2014
    HD64G, INSTG8R and antony209494 say thanks.
  18. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,035 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Is your harddrive being run in AHCI/SataIII 6gbs?

    Is it possibly on IDE mode?
  19. jcgeny

    jcgeny

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    155 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    parked or not , Bf4 is a blu-ray to install so , at least your pc will need as much Go of Ram as on the HD ...or you will have lags
  20. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,690 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    WUT? That made very little sense...

    The mentioning of the WD Greens is a good point. they are meant to be used for storage.
    antony209494 says thanks.
  21. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    275 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    The CPU in the test is a Intel Core i7-4770K @ 4.2 GHz so if your fps is not as high is ok but 40 FPS in 1080p ultra settings is a bit odd for your card and cpu.
    I get 30-35 FPS on ultra 1080p no MSAA or any of those things and on high i get 55-60 FPS is SINGLE PLAYER.
    I know it doesn't make any sense but try the drivers they used in their test (AMD: Catalyst 13.11 Beta 9.4)
  22. Tallencor

    Tallencor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Unwanted programs running? All drivers updated? (mobo...Chipset etc) All os updates? HDD performance?
    There are so many variables when it comes to game performance these days.
    If it is cpu bottleneck try adjusting what and when programs are allowed to run. If you are not cool with overclocking, Just decrease what is running in the background there are lots of guides for os performance. Just be careful what you turn off.
    If this fails or doesn't give you a noticeable increase, I would try getting the read speeds of your disk the game is installed on.
    I also look at Haven or Valley as they are free and help narrow down issues. Just search google for scores attained by people with your Cpu and Gpu.
    Good luck and post your progress and any screen shots you can obtain.
  23. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,467 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    JATownes says thanks.
  24. M0rt

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    106 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    How are your GPU clocks?
    How are your case temps and airflow?
    GPU throttling, maybe?
  25. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    GPU clocks are default. All temps on mobo card and cpu are ok.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page