1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is the best Dual core AMD CPU and mobo on budget?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by p_o_s_pc, Oct 2, 2008.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    What is the best AMD DUAL CORE CPU and mobo on a budget? It has to be under $300. I WILL be overclocking. cooling will be taken care of by a lapped Xigmatek HDT 1283.

    Just for those of you wondering i can't bring myself to make the switch to intel sticking with AMD.

    I would like the board to have support for 45nm Quads also ram voltage must be 2.4v or higher CPU voltage 1.55v or higher(would like 1.7v+) SLI support would be nice but NOT needed. I don't really care if it is a crossfire board or just a 1 PCI-E slot board...


    Thanks
    p_o_s_pc
    :toast:

    EDIT: I forgot to tell you i already have a 5k BE that will bench at 3.2ghz but i want to bench at 3.3ghz+
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    9950 + most am2 mobos out there.
     
  3. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thanks but I said DUAL CORE i don't want a quad till 45nm
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Don't get a dual then. Wait for the 45's and save yourself some money. Its rare to get even a 6400 over 3.4ghz
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    ok... what about the AMD 8750 tri core would it be faster then my 5kbe@3.2ghz? The good thing is that it would let me run my ram at its full 1066 speed.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    you hypocrite :p you said you wanted a dual. Erm I dunno how much faster it would be but imo going straight to quads from a dual is a massive increase. I think a 9950 would be quite good though if you have a motherboard that supports it.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  7. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    the x2 5000+ BE is the best for you man, BUT amd will be releasing some new k10 x2, x3, and x4's that are very promising.. i would wait till q1 before doing some new hardware purchases, because if you buy now, your hardware will get outdated very soon..
     
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    my mobo that was running my 5kBE is dead so that is why i have to buy a new one... I don't want quad yet i am looking to save some money NOW. I know i will have to spend the money on a 45nm but that is LATTER so i don't care about that right now.
    I have read that the 8750 will do 3ghz+ so 3 cores at 3ghz should be better in mulit.threaded apps then 2 cores at 3.2ghz...

    did i just answer my own question :wtf:

    anyways now that i just answered my self :laugh: what board would meet the following requirements best....
    45nm Quad support
    must support 8750 (no shit :laugh:)
    can give CPU 1.55v or more
    can give ram 2.4v or higher

    SLI would be NICE BUT NOT REQUIRED

    @pancho. I can't keep waiting i have been stuck using a Celeron D @3.3ghz and it sucks vary bad i need something better ASAP before i pull my hair out and start cutting again (jk on the cutting part)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    Having a motherboard that supports the 9950 just got narrower. AMD has released a 125W version of the 9950BE
     
  10. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    get a biostar.. solid with voltages, most support the 45nm and all...

    as for the celeron and all, why not get something cheap right now (like a 3800 brisbane and oc that mofo) and save for the 45nm quads?
     
  11. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    Does it have to be AMD, if you want to save money yet have a huge increase, your best bet would be an E7200/7300 with a low cost P45 motherboard to hit 3GHz.

    E7300 ($140) (E7200 $120) - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115132&Tpk=E7300

    P45:
    MSI P45 Neo3-FR - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130180
    Foxconn P45A - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813186148
     
  12. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    has to be AMD I can't make the switch to intel i have tried to but i just can't click the order.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I went to intel on the basis that only performance matters not if its amd or intel.
     
  14. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i like AMD better sorry to Intel fanboys and i don't want to start a flame war
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  16. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    o, amd still makes dual core? lol.
    dont do dual core, amd struggles enough at 45nm and up as it is.
     
  17. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    Thats cool man. I'm somewhat of AMD fanboy myself i just had to get Intel for the overclocking experience.
    Although as soon as Deneb comes out, I'll leave Intel...for a while.

    Intel is like that slut you just want to bang. Shes for the players, and the desperate. While AMD is the girl you have been with for years, on an "on and off" term, but you love her to much to let her go.
    :laugh:
     
  18. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    hey pos, did you get my last post? :p
     
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    yeah, I am going to look into some Biostar boards and some DFI boards.i'm not going to get a 3800 because i still have a 5kBE and i want something higher
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    That's a great board. It shouldn't have a problem overclocking the 8750 to 3.2GHz (+)
     
  22. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,224 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    831
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Actually that is my favorite combo and infact its in my shopping cart. I would have blindly bought that if I had the money.

    Anyway, if you still have your 5KBE, why don't you just buy that mobo and wait for new Denebs to come out?

    For that matter get an Asus. They are pretty fast in Bios updates and they seem to OC well too.
     
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  24. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Buy a AM2 790FX motherboard

    A AM3 chip will work in them. Yes 45nm ones coming at the end of the year. Those chips will hit 4ghz I'm 99% sure about it.


    So use you 5000+ in a 790FX board for now, and then upgrade the CPU when the AM3 chips come out.

    You may get your .1 out of the 790FX on your chip that you want and more lol
     
    p_o_s_pc and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i am not too sure if my BE is still alive that is why i want to get a new CPU i don't want to be having to wait for another one to get here if it isn't working and if it is then i can have fun benching 2 CPUs and try to get my 5kBE to 3.5ghz. so all in all i just want another CPU so i can play around with them.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page