1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is the best OS and Software gaming setup

Discussion in 'Games' started by BloodTotal, Dec 20, 2008.

  1. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    Should I installxp or vista?

    I know vista is dx10, or should ijust install both xp and vista
     
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Vista x64+4gb of ram.....no contest.
     
    BloodTotal says thanks.
  3. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    What games will you be playing and which runs faster under your system?

    For me Vista x64 and 8gb RAM, running in full performance mode=win.
     
    BloodTotal says thanks.
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Full performance mode?
     
    BloodTotal says thanks.
  5. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    Q6600
    4gb 800 ddr2
    260 gtx
     
  6. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    +1 to the Vista 64 with 4gb+ of ram.
     
    BloodTotal says thanks.
  7. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    I donno, I always usedto play on xp because my CPU and ram bottlenecked so much that vista would get like crappy, dx10 isgood?
     
  8. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Ummm judging by your system specs with what you got atm xp is fine upgrade ram and cpu then definitly Vista 64 bit.
     
    BloodTotal says thanks.
  9. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    I have new specs, look up
     
  10. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    Yeah I'm settled on vista, see you guys @ farcry 2 online
     
  11. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    :eek: sorry missed that first time nice set up.
     
    BloodTotal says thanks.
  12. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    Tyty, I worked hardfor it
     
  13. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,375 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Most ppl will say I'm insane, but XP64 and 4gigs+ ram. I rock through every game I try at high fps... Just my nutty 2c worth.
     
  14. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    By full performance mode I mean all the visual crap disabled and taking off all the extra services and stuff.
     
  15. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Ubuntu 8.04 with 256 mb of ram! :p :p :p

    Sorry I had to. Vista 64 bit runs very smooth and driver support is great so far.

    Why not just dual boot with xp for security?
     
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Vista(what ever bit floats your boat)
     
  17. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    Vista WITH service pack 1, otherwise it has slighly less performance than xp
     
  18. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,991 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,715
    Location:
    US
    I find that XP x64 performs better than Vista x64 as i see min frame rates much better in XP x64 or i would not be using it else lol..
     
  19. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Vista Premium X64 and 4 gigs of ram. Even with 2 gigs, it's all good. My system does fine with the newer games.
     
  20. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    running Vista Ultimate well on my Rig :)
     
  21. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    If you can Dual Boot.

    XP for Gaming and Vista for DX10 gaming, but if you had to pick one you should go Vista if you have the RAM, should work well in games now a days.
     
  22. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,755 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Depends on how old/new your games are. I still use a Win95 system for the really old games (Earth 2140), a Win98 system for the classics, an WinXP x64 for everything else, and WinXP for games that refuse to run on x64.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    922 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    I run Vista Ultimate x86 SP1 (in the future x64, when i have the money for license)... so far so good :cool:
     
  24. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,601 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    190
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    isnt winXp 64bit supporting 4gb ram aswell?
     
  25. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,601 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    190
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    want cheapest vista in internet and even retail theres the link i bought from here aswell my basic 64bit retail> http://www.shoparhive.com/products/Windows_Vista_Ultimate_64bit_FULL_With_SP1_Retail-37-2.html
    its 50% discount .they are digital downloads,u will ned to burn it to dvd,but it is fullly legit and they send u licence key in 24hours to email.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page