1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is the core voltage for the cpu

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Ubuntusario, Oct 6, 2012.

  1. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,630 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,847
    ya I just read the manual of their 990 FX boards states to download the utility and bios to a bootable disk, i guess can be CD/Floppy or USB drive, operate it in a DOS environment
     
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    try these settings manually I am pulling them directly from your BIOS

    Overclock mode [maual]
    AMD IO C-State Support [disable]
    Multiplier/Voltage Change [manual]
    -CPU multi [16x]
    -CPU voltage [1.375]
    -NB multi [10x]
    HT Bus Speed [2000mhz]
    HT Bus Width [16 Bit]
    DRAM timings [manual]
    -Power Down Enable [disable]
    -Bank interleaving [auto]
    -Channel interleaving [auto]
    -CAS [9]
    -RAS# to CAS# [9]
    -Row precharge [9]
    -RAS# active time [24]
    -Command Rate [2T]
    -rest on auto
    VOLTAGE CONTROL
    -DRAM VOLTAGE [1.6]
    -NB VOLTAGE [1.3]
    rest on auto
    SPREAD SPECTRUM [disable]

    If it is still overheating after that you need to check your TIM application. There might be to much which WILL cause it to overheat. While you are in the BIOS disable ALL AUTOMATIC FAN CONTROL. I do not care if it is loud you need to figure out what is causing the system to crash before you go about whinning about noise level.


    You would be wrong ZUMAX is a subsidary of TOPOWER/EPOWER all of which are known for decent quality powersupplies. On top of that his rig with a phenom X4 965 and 5770 wont pull over 350w at the plug most craptastic powersupplies can provide that.
     
  3. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
    the following settings need to be confirmed are they right? are the cpu and PCIE frequency correct?
    *I have all the settings like they're shown* -except the memory config which is set to auto on all options and it all seems to be working fine but I like to specify memory config manually if you could help me, I tried it like is shown but is failing for some weird reason.
    See As I said the problem was or apparently is the memory config.

    BTW my computer while on bios keeps turning the screen off after it goes like around 54C even tou as the settings show I'm on 1.4v, I dont' understand computers.


    CPU CONFIGURATION
    ---------------------------------
    Overclocking mode [manual]
    CPU frequency [is this right? 200]
    PCIE frequency [is this right? 100]
    Spread spectrum [auto]
    Asrock UCC [disabled]
    CPU active core control [disabled]

    MULTIPLIER VOLTAGE CHANGE [manual]
    cpu frequency multiplier [x17.0 3400mhz]
    cpu voltage [1.4000V]
    nb frequency multiplier [x12.0 2400MHz]
    cpu nb voltage [1.1000V]
    ht bus speed [2000 MHz]
    ht bus width [16 bit]

    DRAM TIMING CONFIGURATION
    -----------------------------
    Load profile setting [which one AUTO, STANDARD, PROFILE 1?]
    Profile 1: 7-7-7-21 1.50V DDR-1333
    DRAM frequency [which one AUTO, DDR-1333?]
    Dram Timing controls [manual]
    CAS# Latency TCL [7]
    RAS# to CAS Delay TRCD [7]
    ROW precharging time TRP [7]
    RAS# Active time TRAS [21]
    Command rate [auto]
    RAS# cycletime TRC [29]
    Write recovery time TWR [10]
    Refresh cycletime TRFC [auto]
    Ras to Ras Delay TRRD [4]
    Write to read delay TWTR [5]
    Read to precharge TRTP [5]
    Four activate window TFAW [22]

    Power down enable [disabled]
    bank interleaving [auto]
    channel interleaving [auto]
    memory controller mode [unganged mode]


    THE COMPUTER IS NOT STABLE WITH ANY SETTINGS ANYMORE AFTER MY CPU WENT OVER 55C ON LEVEL5 FANS!!!!! i HATE COMPUTERS THIS SHITS DONT WORK
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2012
  4. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,506 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,118
    @ubuntusario: so what's going on now, get anything sorted out yet or are you still crashing?
    Posted after you but didn't see your post :p

    Did you try reseating the heatsink fan?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,016 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,322
    Location:
    Rochester area
    the crashing IS NOT TEMP RELATED
    something else is broken
    either the motherboard is defective or the cpu its self is defective no machine on the planet should shutdown at 55c
    try disabling the bios thermal protection set it to off or 70c
    then go and run memtest and test the ram sticks
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Can you try my settings... I am quite a bit seasoned on these chips/boards. If you keep ignoring all advice people will stop posting. Its getting a little frustrating dealing with you ignoring advice and posting the same b.s. over and over.
     
    qubit says thanks.
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,016 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,322
    Location:
    Rochester area
    yes give his settings a shot or we are done here
    you have already stated you don't know anything about computers
    we do
     
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,630 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,847
    well if you dont know anything about them i can say you probably shorted it out someway or another, id recommend you take it into a shop to be looked at.
     
  9. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,016 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,322
    Location:
    Rochester area
    possible if he didn't put the stand-off mounts in the right places
    a intermittent short could explain his issues
     
  10. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
    after reseting the bios my computer works again altough is kinnda stupid that it works with the same settings it failed before without the reset. I think my bios is old or bad that's why is shutting down at 51C

    is not I'm ignoring you is just I got it working with better settings which are stock btw, is running fine at 2400mhz on the nb speed which is 12x not 10x and 1.5v on the memory not 1.6, 1.1v on the nb voltage not 1.3, plus you want to me run the cpu multiplier to 12x that's 3200mhz! and 9-9-9-24 on the memory? that's less then what I paid for.

    I still need to know what the pcie express frecuency is if it's 100 or more and what are the exact memory specifications to write on as that's what it was causing the crashes. I'll update the bios in the mean time.

    btw the computer before was running at 43C idle, now it runs at 38c idle due to the voltage being lower, still reaches 50.5C on the full load.

    I just found out my mobo has 1.10 the first release, the latest is 1.50.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2012
  11. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,016 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,322
    Location:
    Rochester area
    pcie freq should always be a 100
    never ever change it
     
  12. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
    computer keeps shutting down when it reaches 51c or 52c temps even after upgrading bios, I think I'm going to return the motherboard and buy something else.
     
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,848 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,456
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I think you're implying that settings are a result of your instability. It may just be coincidence that the CPU crashed at that temperature. Honestly, I'm reluctant to think that it isn't settings considering the resistance to the recommendations that have been made. Cdawall gave a very complete and a very reasonable set of setting to start overclocking and it should be pretty close to stable for your CPU. If it isn't, you need to adjust it. Worry about your memory running slower than spec later. If you're jacking the voltages up you could just be stressing the board. It does say that it supports 140-watt TDPs but it is still a 4+1 phase power board.

    Does it doesn't crash on stock settings, it is the overclock. Also when you bump the NB speed you're also overclocking your memory. That is what cdawall wanted you to drop memory speeds and increase timings because once you start you're memory is going to be running at a higher frequency when the NB runs faster.

    None of the recommendations that cdawall made will hurt your machine so I recommend doing everything he recommended to see if it will boot and if it is stable. Don't cherry pick the settings you want to change. There is more to overclocking than just changing some settings. :slap:
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2012
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,630 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,847
    Honestly he is trying to overclock an already unstable machine, first things first to get the machine to stabilize at factory stock speed of the CPU, Ram, NB, SB etc


     
    qubit says thanks.
  15. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,016 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,322
    Location:
    Rochester area
    set nb frequency multiplier [x10.0 2000MHz]
    cpu frequency multiplier [x15.0 3000mhz]
    cpu voltage [1.3700V]
    if this doesn't work THEN YOU can RMA the board I don't think the board is at fault tho
     
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    The board only supports single plane 140w chips not dual plane 140w chips ie the entire phenom line it's a gimmick all manufacturers use to make the board sound better than it is. The 125w 965 he has is th max processor that board supports in a dual plane cpu.


    Like I said before you obviously have no idea what you are doing aol why don't you try the settings I gave you. Also before you even think about complaining about the ram have you looked at the memory QVL for your board? If not you may be looking at half of your stability issues right there.
     
    eidairaman1 and Aquinus say thanks.
  17. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,016 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,322
    Location:
    Rochester area
    this
     
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,630 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,847
    You have all the advice needed here its up to you to take it or leave it. Since it seems youre failing to listen id majorly suggest you go and buy yourself an OEM machine or take the one into a local pc shop it will be faster and less stressful to you and the others here.


    Btw reason your games dont work right is cuz of this topic right here so dont be flooding the forum with new topics that all have to do with this one right here.

    Otherwise Goodluck receiving help in this forum cuz i will no longer give you help nor the others who have posted here. Good day sir.

    Unsub in 3...2..1.
     
  19. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
    I just disabled over temperature protection and raisad the voltage to 1.40 that is doing the trick, the mother has bad bios programming at least on that.

    yea I thought about sending it back to buy another one is very stressing all this.
     
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,848 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,456
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You're not going to push much out of that 965 with that board. It simply can't deliver the power you want at overclocked speeds. If you're going to be serious about overclocking (which I'm skeptical about because it appears that you're ignoring the majority of advice given to you,) you really should get a board with stronger VRMs. Maybe something with 8 phases instead of 4.

    You really shouldn't buy the cheapest of the cheap and expect it to perform like a champ.

    If you wanted to stick with ASRock, I would consider something like this for OCing:
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/990FX Extreme4/?cat=Specifications

    Or for a bit more, you could get Asrock's 990FX flagship which has a 12+2 phase VRM.
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty 990FX Professional/?cat=Specifications
     
  21. Ubuntusario

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    208 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    UT,US
    is not the cheapest of the cheap man I paid for it 70$! it's an expensive board. And in a couple years I'm moving to fx8 I don't care about overclocking it doesn't do much anywey. Unless it was a video card, I had bad experiences with overclocking cpus in the past but good with overclocking video cards.
     
  22. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,848 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,456
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Hahaha. No, 70 USD is a cheap board. An expensive board is mine, since the P9X79 Deluxe goes for what, 360 USD? A nicer motherboard could have given you the opportunity to upgrade to an FX-8 without replacing the mobo. :( A mobo that costed twice as much could have given you a good board for now and the future.
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,630 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,847
    the board here which is a 970 Extreme 4 supports FX8 and higher so...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page