1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is the difference between a gaming GPU and a workstation GPU?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by quasar923, Aug 7, 2008.

  1. quasar923 Guest

    On newegg ive seen some workstation GPUs that cost 900 or so bucks, and their specs are way worse then most mid-highend GPUs. So why do they cost sooo damn much?
     
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,249 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    they're designed for programs like autocad and other graphical design programs

    I seem to be answering all your questions today huh?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    The major difference between gaming video cards and workstation video cards is that gaming video cards focus more on shaders (textures) while workstations focus more on vertexes (lines).
     
  4. quasar923 Guest

    haha yes you are barb. well would a gaming GPU such as a 4850 be adiquite for autoCAD? my dad is an architect and thats what he mainly does on his comp all day long. are vertexes harder to make than shaders or somthing? beacuse why would they cost sooooo much? i dont think my dad wants to spend 900 bucks on just a gpu. altho the comp he has now may have a workstation gpu because its a small single slot gpu with out a fan just a heat sink and 3 years ago the comp cost him like 2,200 bucks with a 19" dell LCD, 3ghz p4, 1 gig ddr ram, no more than a 250gig hdd im guessing, and now his mobo is trash and he has to get it replaced, which he did a few days ago. but im ganna be building him a PC with an e7200, 2 gig pc6400, 4850 512mb, asus p5q pro, 250gig hdd, 600watt psu. will the 4850 work for him?
     
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    workstation cards are more precise and accurate, something autocad and the like need.. they are optimized for things such as vertexes and vectors .. instead of textures.. and are a must for people like architects.. that need pin point accuracy.
     
  6. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    On-the-fly vertex rendering is very hard. Textures in games are already pre-rendered, and all the gaming graphic card is doing is laying them in the correct location on model (car, building, characters, etc), and apply the appropriate AA, lighting, filters etc.
     
  7. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,249 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    but do you guys think the 4850 is up to the task. can the 4850 run the programs like he's asking.

    Honestly, I don't know as I have zero experience with work stations. All my video card experience is with gaming systems.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. quasar923 Guest

    but will a 4850 be able to run my dads auto cad with the setup ill be giving him as well as it was before on his other comp?
     
  9. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Depends, the software that your dad might use probably has some special protocols, addressing...some special link between software and hardware that can only be obtained by a quadro or a fireGL.
     
  10. disketko New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    It will do some of the job.

    But it will not be up to the task. When complex schematics have to be drawn a mainstream graphics will not be so accurate. Also it will take him a lot more time to render a plan.

    Workstation graphics are your only choice if you want to be productive, else the waiting might kill you.
     
  11. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    I'm a professional animator and mechanical engineer.

    get a HD3870 for your dad and do a firegl softmod to use all the FireGL V7700 functions.

    I use it for my solidworks and 3Dstudio Max and Maya and the performance is way better than the Quadro FX4600 i have at the office.

    I can send you the modded files if u need ^___~
     
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
  12. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,249 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    there's your answer quasar, your gonna need to get him a firegl or quadro card for his work station system

    hey, that sounds like a even better solution. I'm sure you can find someone on these forums to trade you straight up your 4850 for a 3870.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    Here's a comparison i just did... using same machine same card... different drivers.

    Spec Viewperf 10

    HD3870 Catalyst 8.4

    Benchmarks FPS
    =========================

    3dsmax-04 25.84
    catia-02 20.51
    ensight-03 29.69
    maya-02 53.26
    proe-04 16.42
    sw-01 37.23
    tcvis-01 10.04
    ugnx-01 16.10


    HD3870 FireGL drivers mod 8.44

    Benchmarks FPS
    =========================

    3dsmax-04 44.39
    catia-02 42.95
    ensight-03 55.94
    maya-02 261.35
    proe-04 41.41
    sw-01 96.81
    tcvis-01 34.21
    ugnx-01 55.21


    System spec:

    Q9450 @ 3.0 to match Nvidia's test bed.
    MSI HD3870 OC edition 800/1126

    Nvidia's Quadro numbers for comparison.

    http://www.nvidia.com/object/IO_11761.html

    Note that Nvidia card has a hardware lock on chip so that Geforce cards can't use Quadro features. Last card that was modable was 6800GT (Quadro FX4000)

    some of the straight up cards and their gaming counter parts

    NVIDIA

    Quadro FX5600 = Geforce 8800 Ultra
    Quadro FX4600 = Geforce 8800 GTX
    QUadro FX3700 = Geforce 8800 GTS (G92)

    ATI

    FireGL V8600(1GB)/V8650(2GB) = 2900XT/Pro
    FireGL V7700 = HD3870
    FIreGL V5600 = HD2600XT
     
  14. quasar923 Guest

    why do i need a 3870 tho? cant the mod be done on a 4850?
     
  15. quasar923 Guest

    or maybe ill just put his gpu that he has now which may be a workstation gpu into this new build and put the 4850 into my bros comp which will be made from the left over parts from my dads comp.
     
  16. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    Should be able to do with the 4800 series ... unfortunately the FireGL drivers doesn't support the RV770 yet.
     
  17. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,119 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
  18. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    yah that's an old lower clocked X800 pro based card.
     
  19. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Back to the original question: why do they cost so damn much?
     
  20. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    They needed to make a market for the Professionals. Can't be having studios using gaming cards now can they ^__~. Anyways there's used to be many different companies making workstation cards until Nvidia and ATI start mass producing their cards based on the same GPU they use on gaming cards. This was to cutcost on manufacturing and lower the design cost. The older players soon vanished since they were only making workstation cards are only took a small share of the market.
    The professional programs are OpenGL based and games are DirectX based (now it's shifting lil bit since 3DsMAX and few other autodesk software designed their packages for DirectX). They designed the drivers and features set for that particular market. The workstation counterparts usually have the top-bin chips on them.. since they don't want companies paying $2000 for the card complain that the memory module was bad or the core get's too hot. There for the lower clocks on the pro cards. $2000 for a graphic card for a studio or engineering firm is nothing.
     
    p_o_s_pc and Cuzza say thanks.
  21. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Oh yeah, that figures.
     
  22. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,222 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Which begs the question when we'll finally get real time rendering. I get so tired of looking at photo imaging on objects.
     
  23. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
  24. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Ray-tracing is the answer, just like boogah linked.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page