1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is the down side to using a VGA cable over HDMI?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Phusius, Apr 10, 2012.

  1. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    My monitor only has a vga port and a hdmi port. sadly the box only came with a vga cable... so if I just plan to game at 60hz 1080p, can i just use the vga?

    also my sound comes from separate headphones, so I don't need hdmi for the sound...

    help...

    not talking about the catleap. talking about a samsung monitor i just got.
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,126 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Yeah you can use the VGA. If its a cheap cable you might get interference running @ 1080P, but its pretty noticeable so if that's the case you will know right away.

    Only real downside is if you have a Bluray drive and wanted to watch BD discs which require HDCP compliant connections- AKA DVI or HDMI only.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Ok, yeah I do want blu-ray. I guess I will just buy a 6 foot hdmi cable.
  4. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,504 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    You can get a 6 ft for like a dollar shipped on ebay. I have no idea how they can sell that cheap but I've yet to have a functional issue with such cables. Anything longer I'd go with monoprice though.
  5. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,793 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,327
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I have also seen where if you use a "cheap" vga cable the display isn't as crisp and text can be kinda blurry. I have 2 of my crunchers on a 21" crt ( they share it as it has dual inputs with a button on front to switch inputs) and I had a really good cable on one system and a cheap run of the mill cable on the other. There was a bog difference in quality of image. Once I replaced the cheap cable the image was the same on both.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,504 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Vga is analog, hdmi is digital.
  7. boogerlad

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    219 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    uhh, with vga you can bypass hdcp

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page