1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is the slowest computer you ever owned?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TechPowerDown, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. Just thought i'd ask, I am only 16, so i wanna get a taste for how slow things really were back in the day (Hz wise). The furthest back i can remember is a P3 @ 1200MHz with 256MB of SD RAM :roll:

    Edit, I Ment P3 @ 1200MHz
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 22, 2010
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,558 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,495
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    back in 2004 i had a 266 P2? with 256mb ram and 16mb video card ... it lastest a week before i got rid of it :p


    5 month later i build my first pc... AMD athlon 3000 Venis core with a 6600GT and a massive 1GB of ram lol.

    yeah lol?
     
  4. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    computers @ work, swear they get slower everday :laugh:
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,930 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,025
    I still have a laptop running right now that has a 1Ghz P3 w/ 256MB of RAM.

    My first PC that I remember the specs on was a i386DX@25Mhz.

    Of course I had a Commador 64 @ 1.023 MHz also...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,825 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    The first computer I remember as "Mine" was an AMD K6-2 @ 533Mhz, with a nice 3DFx Voodoo 2. But that was way back then.
     
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  7. I'm so young i've only herd rumors of the commadors lol
     
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i also had a i386 but it was because i found them 5 at a flea market for 10 bucks for all of them(boards,psus,hdds,ram,heatsinks,cases,etc)
    was worth it just to play around. but that is the slowest pc i have owned.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Believe it or not but a lot of classic arcade games like Street Fighter II ran on ~12MHz boards. Most arcade games that use the JAMMA standard ran on very slow processors. Of course everything was loaded onto ROM chips and there really wasn't a CPU as we think of it today.

    I have an Aquarius in the garage. I never owned a Commodore but those things were awesome back in the day even running at 1MHz. They still are really cool to learn about.

    The start of affordable computing as I remember it was the glorious 6502 (around 2MHz). Variants of it are still used today. That thing is awesome! If you watch Futurama you'll see there is even one in Bender's brain!

    [​IMG]

    The 6502 is probably the most recognized microprocessor ever amongst those in the know.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,558 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,495
    Location:
    IA, USA
    My slowest, still working machine is a Pentium II at I think 266 MHz.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,025
    If I remember right I had an IBM Personal Computer. My next PC after that had a 75MHz AMD K5.
     
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,020 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    It was a Celeron Pentium 3 cannot remember the clock speed but it ran on the dreaded windows ME, before that i had a Pentium II at around 200mhz but that wasn't exactly slow for its day.
     
  13. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    IBM 5150. I still run it. I can code BASIC FTW!

    [​IMG]

    5mhz clockspeed, 64k ram, B&W graphics, Amber display (I have orange display), hell yeah!

    EDIT: FYI no hard drives.
     
    de.das.dude and dustyshiv say thanks.
  14. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,025
    Yeah I think that's what mine was.
     
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,206 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,564
    Location:
    Florida
    my first was an AMD socket 7 i believe. like 266mhz and i think it had 32mb of ram and some onboard trident grfx. it was super cool.
     
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,561 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,096
    [​IMG]

    1.023Mhz of awesomesauce
     
  17. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    I still have the intel

    INTEL PENTIUM I at 133Mhz right here- beast chips with bigger dies then i7's :laugh:

    half as light due to ceramic.

    System had 10gb of storage

    and 64mb of ram or less

    PS: im a 93'er and yes i had and used a computer that old for 6 months.

    Today i used my centrino m processor at 1.4Ghz laptop with 1gb of ram

    It has verizon security so i stood there and waited 5 minutes to load Internet explorer :banghead:

    I decided to fix my computer and im back to speed again :laugh:
     
  18. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    The commodore 64 was mine then the first Desk top I had was a 486DX2 66Mh That was super slow 64Mb of Ram !
     
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,655 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,051
    Commodore PET 4016

    CPU: 8-bit 1Mhz
    System Memory: 16kb
    Storage: Tape Drive
    Video: ? 40x25 Resolution
    Sound: Tone Generator w/Internal Speaker
    O/S Microsoft Basic

    I'm still using a 486SX 66mhz (I think) in my alignment machine.
     
  20. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    I had a C64. I used to hate waiting for those darn tapes to "LOAD,8" lol
    but then got a floppy drive and an action replay cartridge lol.
     
  21. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,540 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Illinois
    First Windows computer I had was a 286 4mhz o/c'd to 6mhz
     
  22. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    [​IMG]
    Amiga 500 brilliant in its day
     
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  23. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    My first computer was a Sytem-80. There is a fan page here

    Specs:
    CPU : Z-80, I don't know how fast it went (not very)
    RAM : 16 Kb
    ROM:`3.5 Kb with inbuilt basic
    Storage : audio cassette, I never bought the optional HDD:(

    A good friend of mine had the same model, I remember us reading up on how to OC these babies back then but it sounded too hard. Had to desolder a crystal off the mobo and replace with a faster one. We also had to retrofit them with earthed aluminum foil to cut down the radio noise that affected half the Tv's in the street whenever we turned them on. I nearly lost that rig over making the old mans cricket go to shit.

    Now, I realise I am older than my dad was when I got that first computer:eek:

    PS - YES I still have it and it still works, 28 years later :)
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,220 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,520
    my first GF had a 16Mhz mac with 8MB of ram.
     
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    a 50% overclock :eek: what would it take to get a 100% overclock? :roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page