1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What kind of hardware problem does this sound like?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by rider500, Jul 3, 2007.

  1. rider500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just built a new computer and everything seems fine except when I have multiple things running or am playing a game or anything that uses a ton of memory my system crashes and turns off. No BSOD or anything it just crashes. I turn it back on and everything is good again. If I just leave the computer running without playing games it'll run for days at a time fine. I have 2 sticks of 1gb g.skill ddr2 800 ram @ 4-4-4-12 2T 2.0 volts. Ive tried differnt timings and voltages and everything but still the same results. Is this a memory problem or what do you think? Also, i tried memtest32 with both sticks and it got to about 10% and crashed. Tried the sticks invidualy and same results. What should I do now?
     
  2. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    What are the specs of your other parts?
     
  3. rider500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    XFX 650i mobo (model IUL9)
    core 2 duo e6600
    8800 gtx
    610w pc power and cooling silencer psu
    seagate 160 gb hd
     
  4. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    It seems like your PSU can handle the setup... maybe it's just the ram?
     
  5. rider500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmm, what would be the most stable setting for my RAM, regardless of speed-just to test it out.. Would it be 5-5-5-15 @ 1.8v ? The RAM specs say 4-4-4-12 @ 2.0-2.1v so I dont know.
     
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,769 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,557
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Could you please add your full specs as I cannot even see if you are running at stock speeds etc. Having had similar problems in the past, from my experience might I suggest that it is voltage related, your symptoms support this ass it's seems only to be when your system is under load that it resets. Do you have RAM and chipset voltage set to "auto" if so, try one at a time, firstly chipset voltage....raise a little, if that does not sort it out put it back to auto and try the same with the ram voltage, sometimes some boards will set the wrong voltage, for instance my board sets the default auto voltage for my ram at 1.9V.....my ram actually stocks at 2.2V!!!
     
  7. unsmart

    unsmart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    480 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Maybe heat? Try prime95 with ATItools scan artifacts and speedfan or other temp monitoring app. Loading both CPU and VID will give you ago idea of where your temp go while gaming.
     
  8. rider500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Every componet is at stock speeds and voltages. It was crashing even at "optimal" speed/voltages which is what my mobo set it at automatically. The RAM is the only thing ive tried changing. Im not at that computer right now but if i remember right my vid card gets to about 75c under load. Cant remember for cpu, will update later.
     
  9. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,583 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    Unsmart above beat me to it.

    Also, you might have too low a vcore in the bios. That will cause the pc to crash or reboot when under load as well.

    Try monitoring the cpu temperature while running orthos.

    If the temperature isn't too high, check the vcore.

    If the temperature is too high, check your HSF, and maybe a reseating would be in order.

    (Lol we posted at the same time.)
     
  10. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    to me that sounds like a memory problem or a heat problem, try running stuff with the case side off for extra ventilation and if that doesn't solve it try some new ram.
     
  11. Jonnycat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    331 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    PNW
    As has been said, I would look at memory and heat first.

    Run memtest86 overnight to test memory.

    Take the side panel off of your computer, put a big box fan blowing on it, then run whatever it is that makes the box crash to test for heat.
     
  12. slicksickwilly New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That def characteristic of a low or fluctuating rail on the power supply.. Just because its a pc power and cooling does not exempt it from failures.. Have it checked
     
  13. rider500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok i tested with memtest32..with RAM in slot 0 and 1 it crashed after 10% complete. I switched both sticks to 2 and 4 and crash; 0 and 1 crash. Tested 1 stick only and crashed. Other stick did same thing. Im going to RMA my memory tomorrow and get 2 1gb sticks of Crucial and see if that fixes it. Thanks for everyones help.

    edit - for the ones that said it might be a temp problem, Speedfan 4.32 says my core 2 duo e6600 is 54c. That is just at my desktop with nothing really running. Is that good or bad? I checked my heatsink and everything too and its securely fastened to the mobo..CPU temp while gaming the hottest it went was 71c.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2007
  14. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    54C idle is pretty bad... it depends on how hot+humid the ambient temps are though.
     
  15. rider500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    its about 80f in my room
     
  16. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    I'd think that something is wrong then... with 26-28C ambient you shouldn't even be in the high 40's idle (unless you're overclocked and on stock cooling)
     
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,769 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,557
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Still think it's memory related, have you tried changing the auto on the memory voltage control.
     
  18. styler1972 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    a long time ago my computer kept turning off because it would get too hot (my 200mhz p2 5-6 years ago).. it ended up that an ide cord inside my cpu case was blocking the cpu fan from cooling the processor.. this sounds like a temp issue to me. although your processor would have fried by now if it wasnt being cooled.. actually now that i think about it i think it was bad ram. i replaced the ram and the problem went away. this was long ago no help here except temp shutoff and lack of power from psu might be a problem. also if your ram is running lower than its intended use the bottleneck might be causing problems. definately check that out
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2007
  19. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,769 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,557
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Lol Styler....you following me? or am I following you :p
     
  20. styler1972 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wrong post
     
  21. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    What case are you using anyway, I blame it on the lack of ventilation... these crashes are common to the 8800 user that doesnt use proper ventilation.

    Wah? Um wrong topic? AMD fanboy?
     
  22. styler1972 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wrong topic again what are the chances
     
  23. unsmart

    unsmart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    480 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Your temps are f'en high:eek: I would say you have a heat issue,54c is where your load temps should be at stock even with the stock heatsink 60c tops. You should check your Vcore, fan direction, reset heatsink and your temp shut down in bios. I know my last few boards shut off at 70c but I set it to 60c. Whats your system temp?
     
  24. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Definitely too warm. 60C was the old CPU upper limit, but a c2d may be able to do 71C...


    New CPU's overheating shouldn't cause an instant BSOD though.. try disabling the auto restart on the BSOD and see what the error is.. that should give you exactly whats wrong, at this point :)
     
  25. rider500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    vcore is 1.17 - 1.22v
    case is coolermaster centurion 1 80mm fan in front, 1 120mm in back,
    system temp is 65c idle

    Ok I took of the side of the case and put a fan on high blowing into the case and within 5 minutes the cpu temp went down to 48 idle. I was thinking about a Zalman heatsink, anybody have experience with those? Also, will keep my RAM for a few more days to get to the bottom of this before i have to RMA it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page