1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What Linux should I put on a Pentium 100?

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by beyond_amusia, Oct 24, 2008.

  1. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I got an old Packard Bell Legend desktop for my roommate and all he wants to do with it is surf the web. I tossed in a 3Com network card and a PCI video card, and now I need to know which flavor of Linux would run smoothly on it. It currently has Windows 95 on it, but we know how quickly it'll fall to malware though once a dumb ass get on the web...

    Here's the specs...

    40 MB RAM

    Pentium @ 100 MHz

    sound card (didn't look at it closely)

    NIC

    Basically an old PC... =/

    Any ideas of a Linux that'll run smoothly and support a modern browser and flash elements?
     
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Apart from not knowing why you would bother with such hardware I'd vote screw Linux, go NT4 :)
    Or of course the DOS RDC client.
     
  3. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    NT4 is a good option, but it'll fall prey to malware too.. =( This guy is an idiot and looks at porn sites and stuff like there is no tomorrow. I know Linux can fall as easy as Windows and Mac OS, but hardly anyone uses Linux, so it's a safe bet in my books. I've only found a few distros that'll run properly on it though, and they look skimpy.
     
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I'm sorry to say, but that machine won't be able to handle today's full-blown flash elements and such. Hell, my 1.6Ghz G5 struggles a little.
     
  5. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    =( There's gotta be something... my G3 @ 2xx MHz handles stuff decently... although extremely slowly! lol.

    If this is true, I will get mad and learn to write an OS and make one that'll run on an old PC, lmao.
     
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    The problem isn't the OS. The problem lies in the web design itself. Flash and java and silverlight, etc., etc. Are all written around more modern hardware.

    That Pentium would probably still serve well as a word processor, but not much else.
     
  7. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Actually planning to browse on it? Definitely need new hardware. Just look at memory usage alone of your browser right now.
     
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,253 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,697
    What about a text-based browser (like Lynx)? He won't see the porn, but still!
     
  9. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I know... =( Look at my specs and I still feel MY PC is slow and old! lol. It's either I get it up and running or I am forced to let him use the new eMachines I got given to me last night, and I have plans for that tower already.

    In 2003 I was using Windows 3.11 just fine on the web and using IRC for chat too.... Amazing how the web changed in 5 years, lol.
     
  10. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Good idea, but he'll be pissy about that... =/ He is the one that pays for the internet, so I kinda need to keep him happy, or I'll be without internet.
     
  11. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    My smart phone is faster than that...... by alot. My grandparents have a 166Mhz Pentium Pro with the turbo button and it takes 32 hours to defrag a 8gb hard drive. Its pathetic. :(
     
  12. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,315 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    976
    Dump it.

    It's easy to hold on to old hardware because of the "previous" value in it. But today, for $100, you can buy an Intel mini-ITX Mainboard with built in CPU, and memory, which WILL run as a web broawer or fileserver or basic office productivity tool.

    "Invest" $100 for some proper kit.
     
  13. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,364 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    And we used to think that was fast... Honestly man, find a copy of Windows 95 if you want to have an OS on there. Ubuntu is pretty basic, but I don't know if even that is low enough.
     
  14. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Try using Auslogics defrag... it's REALLY fast, lol.
     
  15. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    It was given to me 2 days ago, and I wanted him to have a PC, so i gave it to him.
     
  16. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    No, Ubuntu needs at least a Pentium 2 or 3.
     
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    If you are hell-bent on trying it, DSL Linux is your best bet. It only needs a 486 to run.
     
  18. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
  19. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    lolz... Is there an OS that's merely a browser? You know, turn it on and it loads up and boom, web browser! The PC itself should do fine as an Internet appliance.
     
  20. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    This should put it in perspective.... remember the Dreamcast specifications?

    It browsed the internet like crap back in 2000.

    I am thinking 100Mhz is too old. Keep the floppy, case, and maybe the PSU. Anything else would probably do better in the garbage.:ohwell:

    If I lived near you I would tell you where the local businesses are putting there stuff by the curb/dumpster and you could score a 1GHz+ Celeron computer atleast.

    Most businesses put their computers by the dumpster after they are replaced. I know I do at my office. I can't sell the stuff without it breaking company policy so the old stuff gets put outside the dumpster so people can take what they need. I threw out some decent G5's the other day(a month or two ago really, but you get the point). :( This is standard policy for most companies really.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2008
  21. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Try Puppy Linux or Damn Small Linux. Is it a broadband connection or dialup?
    And NT4 wont run on it, Ubuntu wont run on it, it is hamptster powered!
    [​IMG]

    On a side note, you could probably clock that P100 up to 150 MHz, then you'd be roaring away at 150% speed! (although, 1.5 x 0 still = 0 :p)
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Dammit. I wish I knew you were throwing out some G5's. I would've had you grab one for me. lol.
     
  23. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    NT4 runs on a 386 with 12MB RAM.
     
  24. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    Puppy and Dsl are your best bet.
    Sea Monkey from Mozilla comes with puppy might just do it.
     
  25. Rexter

    Rexter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Denmark
    Puppy Linux, definetly
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page