1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What low$ MB for a Intel Pentium E5300?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Sasqui, Sep 28, 2009.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    As the title says... looking for a CHEAP motherboard for an E5300.

    I have a set of DDR2-1066 Ram

    No frills, but would like onboard Audio and good overclocking potential. Prefer an intel chipset.
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What's the budget for the board?
     
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,769 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,931
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Gigabyte GA-EG41M-ES2L. I had the G31M-ES2L, and it was a solid, cheap board. OCed an E4600 to 3.2ghz with it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    FREE! :rolleyes:

    ...Looking $75 and under.
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    If you don't go with the BloodIron look at a P43 or a 680i. If overclocking most e5300 chips are walled to about 355fsb. So you don't need an expensive board, just look for soemthing with alot of power phases.


    EDIT:

    If you don't mind going second hand, any of these board he has listed will do the job quite nicely.

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=103498

    I'm looking specifically at that 780i.
     
  7. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,870 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    682
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Wow, I got my E6600 to 480FSB, but that involved dropping the multiplier down a notch. I could never get more than 3.6Ghz out of it. Wonder if the same is true for the 5300.


    Hmm... worth considering.
     
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea, those were the ones I was looking at as well... thx.
     
  10. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,501 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Sasqui,

    I just bought this $62 Asus board:
    http://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=211504734

    It has onboard sound and video(if needed). Not sure how well it will overclock with the chipset but it's $40 cheaper than a P5Q(preferred for CPU overclocking). I think you could find a P5Q used here for $75. :toast: If you could that would run 450+ FSB and get a killer overclock.
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I'm telling you, you will not need to get a very very expensive board. All boards that support 1600/400 and 1066 will pair with it very well.
     
  12. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    i'm looking for the same thing and the best mobo ive come across is the Gigabyte G31M-ES2L
     
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Micro ATX as well... did you go for it?
     
  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,769 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,931
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I have had 2, and they performed very well for the price. And they overclocked pretty well.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,501 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Heres a guy that hit 330 FSB for 3.8Ghz, damn good if I say so:

    http://www.techenclave.com/overcloc...ng-intel-e5200-gigabyte-ga-g31m-138820-2.html

    For $50 thats a great deal. Slap on a better air cooler and your golden!

    Although the Asus G41 board I mentioned handles DDR2 1066 and has the revised chipset. I'll let you know how it clocks on a Q8200 later this week if you want. I'm thinking 300FSB should be appropriate. :D
     
  16. Bot

    Bot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    587 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    newegg had the blackops on sale for $75 after MIR but it's back up to $119
    i would keep an eye out for it or get a price drop alert.
     
  17. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I still am dissapointed that the 4Ghz barrier seems so elusive on that chip... and surprised that 400FSB seems so far away. My 3 yr old DQ6 tops out at 480. Is it the CPU I'm looking at?


    Who makes that?
     
  18. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,769 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,931
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Foxconn
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    not yet i havent, looking to upgrade things on my current rig and once i do that and have leftovers il build a second rig with that mobo probably.

    have you got a budget for your mobo?
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    BlackOps isn't worth it right now if your on a budget due to the price of DDR3.
     
  21. Bot

    Bot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    587 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page