1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What made you go Water Cooling?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by MxPhenom 216, Oct 8, 2012.

?

I went to water cooling because....

  1. of its cooling capabilities

    54.8%
  2. it is quieter

    20.4%
  3. it looks BAD ASS

    17.2%
  4. Money isn't an issue for me. Disposable income FTW

    7.5%
  1. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    579 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    wow, it's like an airplane taking off! ;)
  2. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Hi guys, I was thinking of going for the watercooling route (PC gets a mite bit warm for my liking) but I had some questions about it.

    First off, I'm assuming that I can test my loop without having the heat sinks attached to the parts right?

    Second, and the most important to me I suppose, I keep hearing that it's higher maintenance than standard air. What kind of maintenance (and problems I suppose) would I expect? Is it essentially the same as changing the water for a fish tank?
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    #1 Yes, just use a jumper on a PSU and you can test in or out of the case.

    #2 Fan and radiator dust is the only real maintenance, so make them somewhat accessible so you can clean them. Of course case filters and a dust free house helps with the length of time between cleanings, but eventually dust will build and lower performance.

    As for maintaining the rest of the loop, if the water starts to look cloudy or funky in any way, you may consider flushing the coolant, but as far as the rest, once its built it is pretty maintenance free.
    Heldelance says thanks.
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Same thing Sneeky said, but to increase I interval between water changes consider running a 25% coolant mix with deionized water. Stops algae growth as a whole. Went about two years between my last coolant change and only changed it because the loop was torn down.
  5. plywood99

    plywood99

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I initially went for water cooling for the performance, to get every bit out of my hardware that I could.
    It even became a nice little hobby for me. Doing total DIY systems and even going to manufacture with my own block design, as in my avatar. It's been a total blast and a good way to relax and use up some time.
    Now I do it for the combination of performance with acceptable noise. My rig is very much quieter these days compared to my first forays into water cooling. :p

    Heck my current setup is a modded Antec 920 that has a res, a Koolance 7970 full cover block, 240 and 120 rads, with pwm modded gentle typhoons. It's a overclocking beast and is FAR quieter than the 7970 stock heatsink could ever think of being.
  6. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Thanks for the info mate. Previously I was running with high CFM fans and for filters, I'm using stockings, great because they don't seem to impede air intake (until they get clogged with dust) and they don't let much dust through (last time I had to clean the internals was a bit over 8 months ago).

    Biggest problem with that is 1: making the filters (gotta make a cardboard frame), and 2: store clerks look at you funny when you buy stockings.
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I run pure distilled water. Haven't flushed my loop in 2 years. Still crystal clear. I'll be flushing soon though, only because I got new goodies to install.
  8. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,420 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,510
    What did you get?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Yes, do tell.
  10. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    since i have my xeon setup i haven't flushed it i only added like 200/300 ml pure car coolant every thing else is condensed water from my dryer
  11. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Does that really work with no ill effect? The Car Coolant I mean. Like if I used pure car coolant, would I run into any issues like corrosion or mucking?
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    you don't need much, maybe like half a cap full and use it for the anti corrosive and anti fungal/algal additives.

    I used to use a product called Water Wetter, any additive is basically fine, but I usually just use water. Last rig ran for well over a year with only dusting of the fans and rad. There was some evaporation in that time but almost not enough to notice really, just the level in the res was slightly lower when the loop was off.
    Heldelance says thanks.
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Car coolant is much to thick to be used pure. Most anyone should go even with cold water setups is about 25%.
    Heldelance says thanks.
  14. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Thanks guys, now all I need to do is save up the dough for a new GPU and a W/C system.
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Danger Den full cover block for the 580, some black tubing, and thinking of swapping over to the D5's I have laying around in both loops. Just need another res.
  16. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,420 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,510
    Cool. I am getting ready to put the i7 970 back under water, but not the GPU's or motherboard. I am going to wait until I upgrade:)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Pure distilled or Pure Bidistilled?

    Thanks, I might drop my Aquacomputer coolant which is awesome but man it costs something like 30-40 Eur every flush.
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  18. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Because an AIO was in my price range on a new cooler. :D
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Just regular distilled that costs less than $1 at Walmart.
    radrok and vawrvawerawe say thanks.
  20. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Thank you, sir.
  21. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    I also use distilled water, with just a silver coil to keep it clean.

    Works great and so much cheaper than the bottled coolant stuff.
  22. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Dunno about the silver in your loop, do you have any nickel plated part?

    A Koolance rep said to me that I shouldn't mix silver with nickel.
  23. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    never heard anything about it and never had any problem.

    don't think it hurts nickel, only algae.
  24. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    I have never heard this either though I don't time to Google right now. However, I will say that just because dude works for Koolance (or whomever) doesn't necessarily mean he knows wtf he is talking about, whether this particular piece of info turns out to be true or not.
  25. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,672 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,540
    I read one time someone was blaming the silver for the nickel plating being crap and coming off (I think it was EK, not sure), don't remember when or where, but I read from many others that it's completely fine to mix them. However, my nickel gpu block seems to be crap, and though it may be because of the silver coil, I would much more likely attribute it to the crap EK nickel plating job
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page