1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what memory is compatible?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by JamesFairless, Jun 21, 2013.

  1. JamesFairless New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'm building a cheap gamer's pc. So far I have a midi atx case, 600w psu, 250gB 7200rpm sata hdd(for widows/system), a optical drive and an AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU.

    I'm considering ,also, buying a Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 16GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX), another sata hdd (1tB - 2tB), a couple of case fans ( mine came without any, although, the psu is at the top-rear of the case for decent heat-exhaust) , aftermarket cpu heatsink and a GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST OC 2GB GDDR5 Graphics Card.

    These all seem like a good option, but the savvy amongst you will have noticed the lack of memory in my system. I've read several articles - too many, in fact - but still feel unsure which type will work best with the cpu-mobo combo. Some articles recommend 1600 mhz DDR3 SDRAM, whilst others say 1333 mhz. Obviously, I don't want to end up with incompatible hardware. Ideally, I want the type of ram that will run optimised (considering bandwidth and number of modules - I hear some systems work best with 2 sticks of memory, whilst others prefer 3). Also, there seems to be different types of DDR3 SDRAM - some are shorter than others and I'd hate to waste money on something that would not physically fit into the mobo.

    When I upgraded the memory in my laptop, I used crucial's pc scan software which automatically detected my system and dirrected me to their site and only offered compatible purchase options - extremely good for someone with my (lack of) knowlege. The only drawback is that you need a running system for this method to work.

    I've recently gained help on tech powerup forums with upgrading my laptop cpu, so now I return seeking more guidance and wisdom from all you lovely tech people.

    Thanks.
     
  2. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Go manufacturer of motherboard and look at the QVL list for whatever board your interested in. Pretty simple
     
    Jetster says thanks.
  3. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU
    http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K10/A... Edition - HDZ965FBK4DGM (HDZ965FBGMBOX).html

    Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard
    Mobo supports: 4 x DIMM, Max. 32GB, DDR3 2000(O.C.)/1866(O.C.)/1800(O.C.)/1600(O.C.)/1333/1066 MHz ECC, Non-ECC, Un-buffered Memory [*Official 1333/1066 in line with AMD CPU]
    General rule of thumb: start with the QVL list
    http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/M5A78LMUSB3/#support_QVL

    nb: Use QVL to avoid compatability issues; if setting up memory timings will be a challenge

    Edit: Take into consideration the clearance between the CPU heatsink and memory when making an informed decision as some memory modules with heatspreaders can obstruct the CPU HS

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2013
  5. JamesFairless New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    excellent. I can now buy Kingston 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL9 DIMM Memory , Item model number KVR1333D3N9/4G from amazon for 30 quid, knowing both cpu and mobo will work at their optimal capcity.
    Thanks all, for you quick reply and help.
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  6. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    If you stick to the QVL you're stupid. Usually the list is horribly outdate, and extremely small. In general any RAM that matches the specs should work with the motherboard.
     
  7. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    LOL if you buy what is NOT on the QVL list and the memory is incompatable, your kinda stuck. Missed you Cartman!

    Very good point!
     
  8. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Well considering that memory manufacturers often change the ICs without changing the model number, the QVL is pretty pointless anyway.

    But besides that, if the memory doesn't work you aren't stuck, you return it and get something else.

    But I've never had an issue with memory as long as it was in the specs of what the motherboard supports.
     
  9. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    hi, just a bit of advice from someone that has this motherboard (asus m5a78l musb3) if youre planning on doing a little overclocking or anything similar, i would buy a different board.

    the board also tends to throttle the cpu cores after several minutes of moderate to heavy load.

    that being said, it does the job as a small cheap motherboard and apart from the above issue its good and handled my FX4100/7950 well, i have had an array of ram in there. and had it folding for a week solid with no problems.

    tiny bit off subject but just a heads up.
     
  10. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    It is smart(not stupid) to say with QVL just in case but you always have a disagreement so lets move on.
     
  11. JamesFairless New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Well,

    after some consideration, I've decided to get the GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3 970A-DS3 ATX form-factor Motherboard, with a few extra slots in case I want to add optical-out sound card later, as well as not having integrated graphics card (not sure if this will conflict with my asus gtx 650 ti boost oc that I ordered). Either way, I have ordered it now and can't really be fussed with returning it (unless it is faulty).

    The memory I will get is Kingston 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL9 DIMM, as it is supported by both my cpu and mobo, in either 1, 2 or 4 module array - according to the QVL.

    I expect Cartman has a good point, but I'd rather go with the QVL for now and not risk incompatibility.

    Thanks all. I'll be sure to post if all works out well, or not.
     
    d1nky says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page