1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What monitor connection do you use?

Discussion in 'TPU Frontpage Polls' started by W1zzard, Jul 25, 2012.

?

What monitor connection do you use?

Poll closed Aug 23, 2012.
  1. VGA

    1,405 vote(s)
    15.6%
  2. DVI

    5,055 vote(s)
    56.0%
  3. HDMI

    1,892 vote(s)
    21.0%
  4. DisplayPort

    594 vote(s)
    6.6%
  5. Other

    78 vote(s)
    0.9%
  1. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    HDMI to DVI.
  2. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Well what did you guys use as a standerd res?
    I use 1280x1024 which is the max my monitor can display
    btw, it bring my 5th star
  3. Hardi

    Hardi

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Hdmi
  4. syeef

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    287 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Main PC: DVI-D --> Samsung 22" LED 1080p
    Old PC (Pentium 4, alive and kicking): VGA --> Samsung 17" LCD
  5. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    504 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    Hdmi
  6. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    I actually use DVI on my primary display, VGA on the second and HDMI going to the HDTV. Over the last few months I've been using the TV much more than my monitors.
  7. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    742 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I am still stuck with my gtx275 so i have to do it with dvi , i have a cable that is on One end DVI en the HDMI for my main 27" monitor the second 24" is Just connected with DVI
  8. Necrofire

    Necrofire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    586 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    At one point in time I couldn't find a dvi cable, but had an hdmi cable and 2 dvi-hdmi adapters.
    It works.

    But I do have a question, if your monitor requires a dual-link cable, what happens when you use a single link cable?
  9. joellim

    joellim New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    47 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    malaysia
    lolx...i guess i use all of the above. my graphic card has 2 mini-DP, 1 DVI and 1 HDMI. I use the mini-DP, DVI and HDMI for eyefinity. Then since i service computers for a living, I have a monitor in my pc-fixing area using mostly VGA cos mostly older computers all have VGA ports.

    But really, after using Mini-DP, I have to say I Love them! so small but can offer enough bandwidth for 1080p and more!
  10. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,284 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I am using hdmi on my ASUS and Viewsonic monitors, have no problems.
  11. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    I use VGA, DVI and HDMI, mostly DVI
  12. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    I use HDMI and have not had any issue at all with it. I do admit I do not use the sound option in HDMI. Also I have never had a hand shake issue with HDMI and it seems to be pretty darn stable for me.
  13. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    405 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    286
    Location:
    Bahrain
    My monitor has VGA-DVI-HDMI, pretty useful if i want to connect multiple devices and i use the DVI-D for PC,
    The TV has a PS3 over HDMI, an XBOX360 over Component (because i'm lacking a long HDMI cable) and an old pc connected with VGA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. darkangel0504

    darkangel0504

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    86 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    DVI ( monitor) and HDMI ( TV ) :)
  15. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    928 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    You won't get a picture on the screen
  16. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    DisplayPort - it's easier to add and remove than VGA/DVI and their thumb screws, but not as easy to accidentally pull out of the monitor as HDMI.

    Also HDMI cables are a rare resource in my flat, and I need as many as I can find for the TV in the living room...
  17. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,581 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Dvi
  18. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    DVI, with VGA the text look like :banghead:.
  19. Game214

    Game214 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I got DVI-I cable from my 1080p monitor purchase, and a HDMI cable from my graphic card.
    I know HDMI cable is more expensive so I store it away and currently using the DVI cable :)
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    HDMI cables are dirt cheap
  21. Game214

    Game214 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    In my case, this HDMI cable is expensive-er.


    that is Oblivion, your avatar.
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2012
  22. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,402 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    HDMI 1.4 on all my devices and rig ?
  23. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    579 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    This! I'm currently using HDMI for my primary monitor and DVI for my secondary.

    I wish the industry would hurry up and migrate to DisplayPort (and dump crappy HDMI) so we can get more connectors in less space. E.g. the cards below with 4x DP in a single slot, where normally only 2x DVI would fit:

    [​IMG]
  24. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    DVI (for workstation) and VGA (for laptop)
  25. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    VGA cable, connected to DVI with an adapter.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page