1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What OS are you using right now?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by zootac, Mar 20, 2012.

?

What OS are you running

  1. Linux ect

    10.0%
  2. Mac osx Snow leopard ect

    6.7%
  3. win 95

    5.0%
  4. win 98

    3.3%
  5. win 2000

    3.3%
  6. win millenium

    1.7%
  7. win xp home

    5.0%
  8. win xp pro

    21.7%
  9. win vista

    10.0%
  10. win 7

    91.7%
  11. win 8 beta

    16.7%
  12. mobi android ect

    8.3%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. zootac New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    124 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    england
    Was just thinking two day my friend still use,s windows xp pro and was thinking
    What do people two day use as a Os on there computers.
     
  2. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Most of my machine's have Windows 7. My old socket 775 rig has XP pro on it thou.
     
    zootac says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. zootac New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    124 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    england
    I dropped win xp last year and now use win 7 is one the best so far that m$ have made,
    On a 775 P4 i use now,
     
  4. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    Win7 X64 on everything besides the tablet, which is running Android.
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  5. Bambooz

    Bambooz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    143 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    Germany
    Win 7 Ultimate 64Bit on my main box, XP Pro SP3 on my 2nd (ex-main) PC, Win2k everywhere else (got a bunch of licenses with cheap used cases lol)
     
  6. Munki

    Munki

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    Mac OS X
     
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Windows 7 64 bit pro! I love it!
     
  8. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Right now I'm using iOS 5.1. Y U leave me from list?? ;.(
     
  9. zootac New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    124 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    england
    soz soylent joe lol
     
  10. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,974 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
    I used WinXP Pro 32-bit up until just over a year ago when I finally switched to Win7 Ultimate 64-bit. I put 7 on all new machines currently.

    I've been tempted to load a VM with '95 or '98 for nostalgia though.
     
  11. bmaverick

    bmaverick

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    283 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Honky Tonk Nashville, TN
    Win7 Home Premium 64-bit from Vista 32 from WinXP Pro 64

    Glad that Win7 H.P 64 is like WinXP Pro 64.
     
  12. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,832 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,591
    @ Home - Windows 8
    @ Work - PC-BSD 9
     
  13. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Do it. 'seasy.

    I'm running Win7 ultimate x64 and am installing win8 beta on a spare HDD now. :)
     
  14. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    win 7 64bit
     
  15. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Win 7 Ultimate 64Bit on my main box( one in my system spec)

    The old Cosmos system has Windows 8
    When Windows 8 comes will probably run dual boot Win7-Win8.
     
  16. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,485 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,546
    7 and 8 on my main rig and XP on the kids rig for now :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    528 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    At the Pub
    Win7 x64 on 5 machines: Bomb,regular,misses,laptop and HTPC machine. Ill soon b installing XP sp3 on an older machine just 2 have sum fun. Unsure about win 8.
     
  18. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,094 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,416
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i run win7 on laptop and my desktop, my office still run xp
    for win 8 maybe im gonna wait little more to see it further
     
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,674 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,332
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    My personal laptop and tower both have Windows 7, my tower runs various linux virtual machines, and my laptop dual boots with Xubuntu. Also my work laptop is a 13" Macbook Pro, which runs OS X Lion. The only reason I still run Windows 7 is for games and for the wife's sanity. She didn't like it when I booted Linux very much. :banghead:
     
  20. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Would have been a much more interesting poll if it had shown how many people are still running a 32bit OS. I voted Windows 7 (Ultimate 64bit) but I have tried Windows 8 recently and it's not too shabby.
     
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,674 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,332
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Except it turns your computer into a Windows phone. I can't say I liked that a whole lot.
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  22. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Actually you can set it out old school style if you wish but Microsoft are simply keeping up with the times. I see alot of functionality by combining android/tablet compatibility and within the next couple of years I think more and more people will have at least one touch screen monitor.
     
  23. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,674 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,332
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I like an OS that works and doesn't eat all my resources. Have you tried to close a Metro app without the task manager? You can't, it gets suspended into memory where it sits there and gets paged out until you use it again. Works great if you have more memory than you know what to do with but I don't have 16Gb of ram just for Windows to eat it all. :banghead:
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  24. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,342 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,850
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Win 7 x64 ultimate on my main 3 rigs, Win 7 x64 pro on my laptop, main rig dual booting with Windows 8, and have XP and Windows 98 installed on a VMWare. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,758 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I was wondering if you'd have broken out 64bit and 32bit, but that would make one heck of a long list.

    My main rig is still on Win XP Pro 32 bit
    Second rig Win 7 Pro 64 Bit

    In my pocket is Android version 2.3.4 :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page