1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What OS Are You Using Right Now

Discussion in 'General Software' started by FooArm, Oct 9, 2008.

?

What OS

Poll closed Jan 7, 2009.
  1. Windows Vista

    78 vote(s)
    65.5%
  2. Windows XP

    35 vote(s)
    29.4%
  3. Linux

    4 vote(s)
    3.4%
  4. Mac

    2 vote(s)
    1.7%
  1. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Vista x64 home basic :D
     
  2. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Main PC -Dual boot -Vista Ultimate x86 and XP Pro x86
    Old PC -XP Pro x86
    Older PC -Ubuntu
    New build will be running Vista x64
     
  3. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    Desktop - Windows XP Professional SP2
    Laptop - Windows Vista x86 HomePremium SP1
     
  4. evil bill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    370 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    Vista 64bit Home Premium SP1 - been absolutley solid, the only thing thats has upset it has been over ambitious OCing attempts and the buggy hell that is Stalker:Clear Sky.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2008
  5. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Vista Home Premium 32 bit with SP1.

    (Some older games will not run with 64bit Vista)
     
  6. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    right now im booted into xp pro, i have vista, but only really use it for dx10 games since the 'ooh' factor wore off
     
  7. Guru Janitor

    Guru Janitor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    New York
    Vista Business x86 (really wish i had x64) :shadedshu
    Vista Home Premium on a desktop.
    Ubuntu 8.04 on a server.
     
  8. ckoons1

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    O'fallon Mo.
    xp pro 32bit sp3
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2008
  9. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Vista HP 64 on main rig, Win2k on Laptop as its not strong enough to run XP, and openSUSE 11 for checking it out on another rig
     
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Just recently upgraded from Vista Ultimate x86 to Vista Ultimate x64 (@ SP1).
    32 bit was rock solid for me. Updated to utilize more RAM.

    I have to say the doubling the amount of RAM and going to 64 bit has made my rig much more responsive when I have a lot of apps open simultaneously.
     
  11. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,260 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,805
    Location:
    US
    Xp X64 mainly, i use 2 copys of Vista Ultimate but thats becouse they were free other wise i be waiting for Win 7 and how that turns out.
     
  12. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Actually 64 bit is still x86. Though commonly people refer to 64 bit as x64 and 32 bit as x86.


    I use Server 2008 64 bit on most systems. XP Pro 32 bit on my laptop. New server will be running ESXi.

    There are plenty more options though, I used to have a BeOS machine for example. Never really got into Zeta. Once Ecomstation supports more modern hardware I might be using that again as well.
     
  13. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Vista Ultimate 32, my wireless doesn't work in 64. I also have XP 32 installed.
     
  14. SimFreak47

    SimFreak47 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    557 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    In a city, thats in a state which is in the US, an
    Needs to be multiple choice. I dual boot XP and Vista Ultimate x86 on my Laptop, and I run XP on my desktop

    I am in the boat with ShadowFold about not liking the x64.
     
  15. kyle2020 Guest

    My Zoom wireless adapter doesnt work with 64 bit either. Upon asking them [zoom] why, i was sent a product link to their latest model -.-
     
  16. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Vista ultimate 32.
     
  17. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Hmm. Server editions were not a choice. Bummer. Running Server 2008 as primary, but XP on stand-by an other HD.
     
  18. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    It seems that the wireless issues with Vx64 are related to drivers and not to the OS.

    That's really pretty poor on their part. They could have at least given you a reason why they could not make specific models compatible with Vx64. Sounds to me like they are just not willinig to update the drivers for the older models.
     
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    using Vista because that is what i had installed on the LOL rig and am too lazy to dual boot with XP
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    XP SP2 on the gaming rig
    Vista 32 Home Premium
    Yellow Dog Linux on the PS3 :toast:
     
  21. kyle2020 Guest

    Exactly. Why make new drivers when they can make another adapter to milk their customers even more? :shadedshu
     
  22. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Desktop - XP x64
    Laptop - XP 32-bit
     
  23. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Main Desktop (mine) is Vista ult x64 and Fedora 9
    Matx rig is Vista ult x64
    First laptop is Vista Home prem x64
    Second laptop is XP SP3 Media Center
    Server is XP Pro SP2
    Bench rig is XP Pro SP3
    HTPC hopefully will be Vista Ult x32, depending on what I can get through my Uni :)


    Oh and laptop at work is XP Sp2 :p
     
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It's your mobo that's holding you back from OS X. OXx86 just doesn't like Asus boards for some reason. To get it to run on mine, I actually had to pass a kernel argument to OS X to run on only 1 core. It just won't work with more than that. And once I did get it up and running, it just wasn't stable, with random freezing.

    If a Hackiontosh is something you want to get serious about, pick up a Gigabyte P35(or newer) board. they work the best. I'm actually trying to find someone to swap my Maximus for an X38 DQ6.
     
  25. freakshow

    freakshow

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    964 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Main: Windows Vista Home Premium
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page