1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What PSU should I get? CX750M?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Jirachi, Oct 25, 2013.

  1. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I currently have the Cooler Master Silent Pro M2 620W, but I want a new PSU because I am going to get another GTX 660 Ti for a dual-SLi setup. I don't want to spend too much money, but it has to be still a reliable PSU which is stable and meets my requirments. Which PSU do you advice me? Is the CX750M good enough?

    SPECS:
    i5 4670k (Want to fully overclock it, not higher than 1,3Vcore)
    2x OCD 660 Ti
    MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
    2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance LP
    1 SSD
    1 HDD
    1 CD/DVD drive
    3 fans
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,096 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,996
    the CX750M will have no problems doing what you want
    Jirachi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks. Then I want to know when I WILL have problems.

    And would my current PSU be good enough as well?
  4. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    +1...

    however, neither will the current one...

    Do the math. 660 ti = 170W they give 20% on power limit so absolute worst case there is ~200W. And trust me, you won't hit 170W fully overclocked without running something like Furmark.

    So, let's say 400W there. You CPU overclocked to the moon (ambient cooling) won't break 125W (and that is only with a stress test like IBT). Give 50W for other stuff and you can see you are around 575W IF YOU RAN EVERY COMPONENT AT 100% WORST CASE NOT REAL WORLD SCENARIO. Your typical draw during gamaing will likely be around 400W or so.
    Jirachi says thanks.
  5. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Earthdog, thanks for clarifying. So, I shouldn't buy a new PSU at all? I want to do some benchmarks, but even then, my PSU wouldnt hit that 575W, right?
  6. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    I think you are fine. Let me put something in perspective for you. Last night I was benchmarking 2 780's that were slightly overclocked and barely hit 690W (at the wall so take 10% off that for my 90% efficient PSU). Those are, at stock 250W TDP cards. Oh and my CPU was at 4.9Ghz (4770K).
    Jirachi says thanks.
  7. Cotton_Cup

    Cotton_Cup

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    378 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Rizal, Philippines
    +1 to earthdog your current psu is pretty capable so no need to buy another one.
  8. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Oh, so that is like 620W. I shouldn't be concerned about my PSU then, I guess. 660 Ti's are 150W cards, right?

    Anyways, I have another question, I hope you can aswer it. My PSU has 2x 6+2 PEG and 2x 8 PEG connectors, but I need 4x 6+2 PEG connectors, because 660 Ti needs 2x 6PINs. I already tried to put the 8 ins in the 6pins, but that didn't work. Some plastic was in the way.

    I do have 2x 2 molex to 6 PINs, but I'm not sure about the quality of molex to 6pin. Should it be fine? I don't want to harm anything or have performance loss.
  9. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    170W cards are their TDP, they will use less though.

    Your PSU, according to newegg.com has 4 6+2 PCIe connectors. That means you are fine regardless of what is on the GPUs. The 8 pin connectors are for the ATX12v CPU (some boards have two).
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2013
    Jirachi says thanks.
  10. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yea, the speclist indeed says 4x 6+2, but that is not the case, I think. Let me tell you what cables are provided.

    From the PSU itself there are coming two cables (non-modular). ONE for the motherboard 24 PIN and ONE for the CPU 2x 4PIN.

    Then I have 2 modular PCIe cables. One cable containts ONE 6PIN, ONE 8PIN (SOLID-NOT SEPERATE IN 6 + 2) and ONE 2PIN. The other cable is the same.

    Oh, and by the way: what are you using to measure the amount of Wattage from the wall? I might be buying one. :)
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2013
  11. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
  12. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sorry to hear that. I mean: one cable contains ONE 6+2 PIN and ONE 8 PIN. The other cable is identical.

    I hope you do understand now.

    EDIT:
    So one cable has this:
    https://www.google.nl/search?q=8 pi...ges%2Fpsuconnectors%2Fconnectors.html;500;350

    AND THIS
    https://www.google.nl/search?q=8 pi...guide%2FBuilding-PSU-and-cables.html;1024;768
  13. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    So what inputs does your 660 ti's require? You can use the 8 pin in a 6 pin input assuming you have the room adjacent to the connector and assuming those 8 pins are not made for the CPU ATX 12v (8 pin - but usually come in 4+4 configs).
  14. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    One 660 Ti requires 2x 6 PIN connectors. Two 660 TI's require 4x 6PIN connectors. I already tried to put the 8 PINS in the 6 PINS, but there is some plastic in the way on the 8PIN connector.
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,561 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,966
    if you are looking for longevity, go for the gs700.whichever has the right amount of jacks.

    the materials used in the cx750 are not all reliable. though since corsair, they should not give problems.
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,561 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,966
    most psu's alow you to break a pin into one 6pin and a 2pin.
  17. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    That just doesn't make sense... are you sure you have the right connectors? Check your box for more PCIe 6+2 connectors.

    Corsair CX series are not teir1, but I certainly wouldn't pay more for a PSU because of the CX quality.
  18. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,840 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ive seen fans go south in the CX series in 18 months. Its only a couple of bucks more the the TX
  19. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    I have had one for years... so he should keep it... (lol, one story of one bad fan does not make a bad PSU). Even the AX series has DOA and bad fans. ;)
  20. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,457 (8.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,926
    If this is a reference 660ti there will be 2x6pin sockets together in the middle of the PCB.

    Is the plastic that is in the way on the 8pin connector or the shroud for your card? If it's the shroud and the connector won't seperate into 6+2 then you will need to get an adapter (those fancy cable extensions may work for you)
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  21. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Im just blown away that every spec I look up for his PSU doesn't describe what he does...
  22. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,457 (8.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,926
    iirc my old Silverstone Strider 600w modular used solid 6pin and 8pin connectors but I'm not 100% sure.

    This normally wouldn't be an issue anyway, except that the reference 660/670 uses those mid-card connectors- preventing the 8pin from hanging outside the connector.
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  23. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    To clarify, I dont have the CX750M! I have the Cooler Master Silent Pro M2. I know the specificationlist says ''4x 6+2 PINS'', but this is not what I received! I Received 2 6+2 PINS and 2 8PINS for the graphic cards!

    Can't I split the 8PINS with a knive or something?
  24. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,596 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    well just like PSU can arrive DOA, i'm sure the wrong parts can be bundled with a product as well. Not saying it common but i definitely wouldn't rule it out.
  25. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,542 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,331
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Couldn't find anywhere either, but did find here:

    Corsair CX750M Power Supply Unboxing and Installat...

    About 1/3 of the way in, you'll see the PCIe cables, each has 8 & 6+2 pins it looks like.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page