1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What PSU should I get? CX750M?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Jirachi, Oct 25, 2013.

  1. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,101 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    That is what I think happened unless the OP wants to take some pictures of what he is describing juuuuuuuuuust to make sure.

    That said, I would reach out to CM to have them send the right ones. In the mean time, the adapters will work fine.
     
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,516 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,473
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    agreeing with the use of some 8 to 6 or 8 to 6+2 adapter

    People, can we drop the issue with what adapters he's suppose to have and concentrate on what he says he has.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,968 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,143
    Location:
    Mysore
    just one thing... is ur current one a modular? and if so are you sure you didnt put the wrong ones in the psu?
     
  4. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So, they gave me the wrong cables. Im pretty much stuck now. I only have 2x 6+2 PINs and 2x 8PINs. I need 4x 6 pins. I have 2x (2 molex to 6 pin). Can i use them without performance loss or instability?

    Yes, modular and yes, im sure i didnt put the wrong ones.
     
  5. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,101 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    It was already mentioned a couple of times it is ok to use those adapters. I would still contact CM and have them ship the right ones. :)

    As a side note, if you were short on power or had dirty power, things do not slow down, they just stop working at a certain point. A PSU has nothing to do with the performance of a GPU. On or OFF. :)

    Enjoy your build! :)
     
  6. xhawn11

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    30 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Cooler Master V700 - Seasonic Oem . I don't want chinese Crapxon capacitors in my power supply.
     
  7. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks! Can i aslo just seperate the righter pins of the 8pins? So, id get a 6+2 PIN?
     
  8. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,650 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,470
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    That would most likely void the warranty.

    Your PSU should have come with a list of included items. Check that against what you have, and if it is wrong, contact CM and get them to send out the correct cables.

    Edit: I found a reviewer on Newegg who said that the wires were different than what the website states.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2013
    EarthDog says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yea, well, i dont care at all if the warranty voids. If this will just work without any problems, im good!

    I appreciate your research about the wires, theblue.
     
    thebluebumblebee says thanks.
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,650 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,470
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Because it is easy for me to get the 8 pin PCI-e connector confused with the 8 pin EPS connector, I will link you to this which has them right next to each other. Notice where the yellow wires are at.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,180 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,642
    The point of a warranty is to sort out those problems. That thing has a 5 year warranty, and imagine it breaking down in say a couple of months. It could happen.
     
    Jirachi says thanks.
  12. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well. The wires are all black in my case,
     
  13. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Alright, I completed the SLi setup by seperating the 8 PINS in 6+2. It seems to work! Played COD BO II Zombies for a testrun, and I have like 160-180 percent of the FPS than I had before!

    Anyways, would I be safe benchmarking with 3DMark Demo? I'm not sure my 620W PSU will handle it! To make clear: I have the Cooler Master Silent Pro M2 620W.
     
  14. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    You are right about that one, though my PSU is modular, and those cables I ''modified'' are modular too. So, in the case it would bread down, I can just buy a pair of these cables and return it.
     
  15. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,650 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,470
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I concur with earthdog (post #4 in this thread). You might want to look at my specs. 560 Ti's pull more watts than 660 Ti's!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Jirachi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Alright, so I can bench them without occuring problems :)?
     
  17. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,101 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    You can ask the question in different ways, but the answer will remain the same. ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page