1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what ram should i get?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by nick_1992, Oct 28, 2006.

  1. nick_1992

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    580 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    i was wondering what DDR 400 ram should i get. i play a lot of games and i upgraded a while ago and had old (X2) 256 ddr 266 and it sucks because it bottlenecks my X1900GT and i think it time for a ram upgrade and my money limit is $200 CAN at the max:cry: . i was thinking somthing like the OCZ Premiere Series 1GB DDR400 Dual Channel Kit. but i dont know if thats good for overclocking. and i was thinking does it really matter about dual channle. soo i would like to see what you guys think i should get.:D
     
  2. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Two 512MB DDR400 Corsair non-high speed rams
     
  3. nick_1992

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    580 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    i was hopeing for high speed ram
     
  4. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    What the hell kind of answer is that?

    anyhow, if you are running stock speeds, get the lowest latency ram you can afford. 2GB is better than 1GB anyday and if you crank up the resolutions/settings you'll definitely need more. Almost all low latency ram will overclock quite well if you loosen up the timings a touch. NCIX is the best online store in Canada with the best deals.
     
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    you want 1GB or 2?
     
  6. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I have that set of OCZ, and it will run with no errors at 2-3-3-3 at 2.9 volts 225=450 Mhz.
     
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    The motherboard I have now limits me to 2.6 volts so I run it error free at 2.5-3-3-3 200=400MHZ
     
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Mushkin offer far better :D 2GB HP3200 if you shop around you can probably find it close to $200. The stuff should do pretty well too, DDR480 or so @ 2.5-3-3 timings, and possibly DDR500+ @ 3-3-3 timings.
     
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    You always forget Tras, which is a major boost in my option, along with cache latency
     
  10. nick_1992

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    580 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    well i was wanting 1Gig and my mother bord can run up to ddr 533 and ddr400 Dual channel
     
  11. C0mrad3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    130 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OCZ isn't bad for overclocking, I live in the states so Mushkin is much harder to come by.

    But with RAM, you more or less get what you pay for, so keep that in mind.
     
  12. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Tras isnt that important, for DDR anything in the range of 6-8 on 939 boards is common, and 99% of sticks use that as a Tras setting anyway.
     
  13. nick_1992

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    580 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    should i get ddr 533 or less or ddr400 dualchannel?
     
  14. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    I think you should go for which ever one you find the better deal for, since there is not much of a noticable diff from what I hear. I could be wrong, if no deals the 533
     
  15. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Tell that to my 5-10 frame boost in bf2, from turning down tras from 5 to 3, but I admit, I only gained 200 points in 3dmark 05. Only a small 1% but its something.
     
  16. nick_1992

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    580 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    i think i'll get muskin but what muskin should i get from NCIX?
     
  17. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    im not a canadian rep, but if u post the ncix link ill point out the best mushkin stuff they stock
     
  18. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
  19. nick_1992

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    580 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    where is that here or at ncix?
     
  20. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    that is DDR2 not DDR :p

    and This is the best within your price bracket nick. if you can stretch the extra $$$ for 2GB i'd recomment that as apps are fast chewing through 1GB these days, especially games. the link in my previous post takes u to where u can buy direct from mushkin, and see reviews of the HP3200 for yourself. unlike other manufacturers, us guys at mushkin dont expect you to take our word for it that the stuff is good, we let the reviews do that :cool:
     
  21. nick_1992

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    580 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    well thanks for the help but now i'm thinking of going with ocz ok
     
  22. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    your call man, if you check AMDzone out though, you will see the OCZ getting utterly demolished by all other memory in that roundup review. dont expect it to clock as well and expect it to cost more. dont take my word on it, just check the AMDzones roundup review.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page