1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What should I do with $70?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by hat, Dec 13, 2008.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    Currently I have a 5200+ windsor 90nm clocked to 2.86 at 1.4v, and 2GB of Dell DDR2 800 ram I have running at decent timings 4-5-5-15. Should I spend it on the 5400+ 2.8GHz or 4GB of Crucial Ballistix? Or should I go out on a limb and go for the 2.1GHz Tolliman? Would the Tolliman show any real increace over my current processor at similar clockspeeds? Will my DFI LanParty UT 590SLI support it well enough to support decent overclocking?

    I will have a 9800gt in the near future, just throwing that in there.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    save it and order a vga better than the 9800gt
     
    hat says thanks.
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't need any better than the 9800gt trust me ;)

    An upgrade like that would cost like $500 cause I would need a new power supply too.

    This was more of a question between getting the 5400+ black, the 2.1GHz Tolliman, or 4GB Crucial Ballistix
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    4GB Crucial Ballistrix. I had spare mUlla like this and spent it on that. Best buy of spare money I ever made lol.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,783 (13.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,163
    If you are running Vista 64bit (which you should), get the 4gb's or ram.:D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page