1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what should i set my prerendered frame's at on a gtx 460

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Achilles1600, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    i dont know what i should set the pre-rendered frame's on my gtx 460
     
  2. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,499 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    In the Nvidia Control Panel? I use the default, maybe 3? dunno doesn't make much difference to me though.
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,839 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,360
    I assume you mean in the control panel. I never really had any issues leaving it at default settings on any of my NV cards. Actually interested to see if it really made an ounce of difference visually.
     
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,474 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    US
    Dunno about the newer cards but setting it to 1 gave a boost in FPS.
     
  5. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Isn't it more geared towards performance? It seems to help to put it at higher levels if you get low framerates. Some dudes put it at 8. I usually let it at default though.
     
  6. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    Yeah in theory a higher number improves fps at the expense of increasing lag. At 60 fps every prerendered frame increases (input) lag by 16 ms (lower fps = higher lag per delayed frame). 8 seems insane, especially if you have low fps, I would never use that setting. I rather have low-ish fps than massive input lag. I usually leave it at default or lower it to 2, depending on my mood when I install the new drivers.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page