1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What should my next upgrade be?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Ben Clarke, Aug 17, 2007.

?

What should I upgarde

  1. CPU

    14.3%
  2. GPU

    78.6%
  3. Wait and build a new system

    28.6%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Hey guys, I'm nearing enough money to get me a minor upgrade. So, should I either:

    1. Upgrade my CPU.
    2. Upgrade my GPU.
    3. Wait and build a new system.

    I use for Folding@Home (SMP client) and gaming. I want to upgrade my CPU to meet deadlines on F@H quicker.
    The games that I currently play are Doom 3, America's Army, STALKER. I'm getting more soon, but I don't know which ones yet.

    Thanks,

    Ben
  2. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    new system
    YAAAAAAAAAAAY
  3. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    get rid of that 7100gs definately
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I agree with mullered. Get a Video Card. What budget are we talking here?

    If F@H is a major priority, you can run the gpu client on most ATI X1K series cards. They fold much faster than the cpu.

    If F@H isn't a top priority, you might want to consider a DX10 card, depending on your budget.
  5. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    I have £60 definite at the minute, and I'm ging to wait an extra month, that should get me like an extra £50 - £70.
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Sorry, I'm not terribly familiar with the prices over there. Is that about the range in which an ATI X1950Pro resides?
  7. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    just shy of a x1950pro, you could prolly pick one up for £70
  8. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
  9. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
  10. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Yeah, well like I said, I'm waiting about a month first, get some extra cash, then I'm buying the upgrade... and I don't really like eBay anyway, too many scams on there.
  11. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    you just have to know what to look for its really not that badf, ive bought so many electricals off ebay its unreal, heck even bought my car off there and my main TV
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    If you do end up with a little over 110 next month, I suggest this:

    http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.aspx?sku=334404
  13. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Lol. OK, so at the present time,

    GPU: HD2600Pro 512MB
    CPU: Athlon X2 5200+
    New system: Will be Phenom, built after Christmas (2010)

    So that's what they'll be at the minute. And I see everyone is angling toward a GPU upgrade.
  14. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    lol watch out wile all the threads as of late regarding 8600gts' your sure to get some fanboys jump on that post and tell you the 8600gts is a pile of crap and wont play anything :roll:

    oh and ben

    dont go with the 2600pro as even with 512mb its not that hot at least get a 2600xt if you go down the 2600 route or as wile said the 8600gts although it is a bit more
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    lol. You know what will really piss them off? Look at my specs. :roll:
  16. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    I see nothing...
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    In reference to what?
  18. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    What'll annoy the fanboys...
  19. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    he has a 2900xt
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I own an HD2900XT, and I'm suggesting an nVidia card.
  21. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Oooooh... I see now. I'm thinking ATI anyway, because they can do F@H when they're idle.
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    f@h doesn't work on my 2900, as of yet. I say get a 1950Pro, then use the extra money for something else. Maybe a 2GB ram kit, if you can squeeze it in the budget.
  23. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    F@H for 2x00 series is scheduled to be released next month, I believe. We're just waiting on Stanford to release the client.
  24. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    is f@h more important to you than perf? if so go with the 2600 card but i still would suggest the 2600xt not the pro
  25. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,225
    wait and buy a new system. dx10 games come out in a couple of months and you can buy a quad core cpu for under 300 bucks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page