1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what should my temps be??

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by exodusprime1337, Feb 25, 2008.

  1. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    i've been playing with my 5000 be and my ultra 120 exteme but something does seem right. my 5000 idles at 30 on stock volts and loads at 38c?? is this good for stock clocks and volts with an ultra120 extreme or not?? when i oc i got 3.38 242x14 1.50(actually appears to be 1.52) and i idle around 35-39 and load at about 50-55. this just doesn't seem right for a 65nm chip. is something wrong, did i do something wrong, or am i just being paranoid?? i lapped both the ihs and the cpu using a flat sheet of glass and up to 1500 grit automotive grade paper?? please help me out here
  2. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Those temps are just fine, certainly nothing to worry about. Might be a tad high for your cooling methods, but it might be a warm chip, I don't know too much about them. It certainly is nothing to worry about though.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,580 (13.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,976
    Does it realy need 1.5V @ 3.38? Those temps are actually pretty good for 1.5v.:) Have you tried stability tests at a lower voltage?
  4. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    i mean i'm running prime right now and it's hitting 55, def doesn't make this ultra120 seem like it's doing the job?? anybody else got an ultra120 and a 5000be??
  5. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    i honesltly think i screwed up my lapping job, it's as flat as it could be from my measurments, should i start over and give it one more shot??
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    You lapped both the core AND the IHS. You need very very little thermal paste. You need to put on just as little as you can get out of the tube. You need to put so little on you need to use a magnifying glass to see what you're doing.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    otay will try that, thank you
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    some people after lapping both actually run without thermal paste but we both know that's just silly
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    paste is to fill air gaps.. its better than air but thats about all that can be said for it..

    trog
  10. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    so it's about 20c in my room right now, and my core is at 51 1.475v 3.35Ghz running orthos stress test?/ good??
  11. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    what kind of fan u got on the HS?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    panaflo 120mm 140cfm max running about 50% just before it gets real looud, also i'm idling at stock about 27-28 1.4v and load at 38c during orthos?? good/bad??
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,580 (13.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,976
    Very nice!:toast:
  14. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thats good. I would like to see lower but that is good.:toast:

    just so you know i hate seeing temps around 40c and when they get to 50c i am like oh hell no.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    beliieve me i lapped my cpu, hsf, 3 times thinking i'm doing something wrong, finally did it one final time and used the smallest amount of paste i could get out of the tube and bam lower temps, but what is odd, is the bios reports idle temps of about 33-34 and the desktop reports temps at idle of 36-38?? i can't test load, does the 590 evga board load the cpu or no?? if it does is it the 80% i usually see or some other percent, cause if that's with a load on it then the temps are phenominal. i mean it's hitting 53 right now during orthos as my room is warming up a bit, but i guess if it stays sub 60 then i should be good? at least i hope
  16. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    mind you this as5 is a fresh application it still needs a few weeks to cure?? so it should go a bit lower

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page