1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What temp does the 9600GT start to flake out?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by OzzmanFloyd120, Apr 21, 2008.

  1. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I was playing C&C3 today when my graphics started to get a little flakey on me. I was getting like bright flashes. I got a little concerned so I alt tabbed into Everest and I was at 53*C and I noticed that my board automatically OCed it to 702/1728/900 by default. I'm only using the stock cooler and I'm really confused because 53* doesn't seem that hot. Is the 9600GT supposed to run cooler than that?
     
  2. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    53*C is plenty cool, but you are describing artifacts. Maybe lower the clocks?
     
  3. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    It really didn't seem like any artifacts I've ever seen before. (not saying you're wrong) And I've also known CNC3's game engine to be pretty crazy too sometimes.
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    the issue is when you alt tab out to see the temps, they have already dropped by as much as 20-30*C. I suggest using an app with a log temperatures feature, so you may see the real temp at time of issues VS. what it is unloaded on desktop.
     
  5. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    What's a good program that can do that?
     
  6. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    ATItool does it by default...its in the settings under temp monitoring! It will tell you min./max./avg. temps
     
  8. Squirrely

    Squirrely

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    367 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    What were the bright flashes of? Just the whole screen? Usually artifacts are little things, not big major things. (Well they can be if your card is really messed up temps or clock wise, lol). :roll:

    As sneekypeet has said, the temps can drop quick. Even with my stock 8600gts cooler, it would drop from 75+ with ATI Tool, to 60C in about 1-2 seconds once the load is off of it. With my vf900, the temps are even more responsive.

    Also, try and log your temps. Everest can do it I think, and many other programs.
     
  9. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Yeah, whole screen.
     
  10. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    RivaTuner can display various temperature data that is outputted by the GPU, in D3D or OpenGL applications. Also if you use RivaTuner + Lavalys Everest plug-in combo, then you can have lot more data displayed, like CPU load, CPU temperature, etc.
     
  11. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Well, I just gamed for about an hour and I had one flash. GPU temp maxed at 60*C, that doesn't seem that bad whatsoever. Maybe it's the game engine flaking out?
     
  12. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,774 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    What driver version are you running and what patch is applied to the game? I'm running 174.74 on drivers, and I believe the 1.9 patch for C&C 3, I have no issues over here. That card is running pretty cool also, mine has a pre-installed aftermarket cooler, that runs it 32 idle and 46 load, so considering your card's temps are just fine.

    Could be the game engine freaking out on ya tho...do any other games have any similar issues?
     
  13. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    No other games have issues, and actually it was the Kane's Wrath expansion. I'm too lazy to type it out so I just call it CNC3 and I'm using 174.74 also.
     
  14. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,774 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Hmm...I haven't seen issues in Kane's Wrath either..but maybe there will be a patch released soon enough to alleviate your issues as I'm sure you're not the only one having them. I did have an issue where the game would close to desktop if I turned up AA all the way, but re-installing vid drivers and DX9 seemed to fix that for me.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page