1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What the heck is SiS?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by WhiteLotus, Aug 25, 2008.

  1. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    Well I am at my friends computer trying to figure out why Oblivion isn't working, thanks to a non discript error. Now I am pretty sure that it doesn't even have a dedicated Graphics card but something called SiS Mirage 661FX keeps coming back,. Are these just drivers, or some hardware around? I have tried to find out myself but google, wiki, IE search all failed me. I have not ever heard of this before.

    The motherboard even has a SiS southbridge according to CPUz. Very confused!:confused:

    All though it does have a 3GHZ P4, socket 775 though.:wtf:
     
  2. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    sis is a chipset company, they make igp's also, just look round the back to see if he has a dedicated graphics card lol
     
  3. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    Oh yea lol. No it doesn't. No wonder why GPUz picked nothing up.

    Hey i had to drive 2hours to get here!
     
  4. Exceededgoku

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    429 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Stamford, UK
    Nevver heard of SiS and you've been on here since 2007 :eek:, lol yeah basically they are a chipset/mobo company who make low end hardware.
     
  5. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
  6. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    nope never heard of them, and i'm here to learn!
     
  7. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    lol oblivion, lucky if he can play HL 1 on a sis igp, unlucky for him :laugh:
     
  8. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    he's a she. lol. Yea i just got completly stuck at this SiS stuff. Going to see if i can find a decent AGP card on dabs/ebuyer or something as well.
     
  9. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,599 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    Oblivion definitely won't work on that.

    You'll probably get the game running on the SiS if you download OldBlivion.
     
  10. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    just tried that and this time Oblivion picked up the graphics - unrecognised but set to medium but i still got the error.
    :confused:


    shall i post the error message?
     
  11. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,599 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    Sure, I'm not that familiar with OldBlivion but maybe someone else can help.
    Is it the same error you got when you tried to play Oblivion without OldBlivion?
     
  12. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    its just a non discript error message

    [​IMG]


    trying to find the error dump record now as well.
     
  13. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,599 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    Hmmm it might be that OldBlivion doesn't work on that particular SiS card...

    Anyway, it's better to purchase a graphics card - OldBlivion makes the game look very bad compared to screenshots you see online!

    Maybe you can get an X1950XT? I think that's one of the best AGP's out there?
     
  14. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    the actual error code is 0x000912a6.

    I am pretty sure its because of the Graphics card, will have a look round though see what there is available.
     
  15. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    http://www.google.nl/search?q=SiS M...s=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

    First few hits say enough...
     
  16. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,599 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    Wait a sec, you didn't update Oblivion to 1.2 before installing OldBlivion?
    Because OldBlivion won't work with the 1.2.0416 patch!
     
  17. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
  18. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    What about an agp 3850 wouldn't that be better.
     
  19. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    When I first saw this thread I thought it said what is "iSis" and I was going to say it is our terrible new online class enrollment and schedule system here at Uni and I was about to fall out of my chair since there is no reason why it should be in the General Hardware forum..

    I was just on it trying to print my schedule when I saw this thread and did a look around for other TPU'ers here in the library. Yay for first day of class :ohwell:
     
  20. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,658 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    574
  21. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,073 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    theres proof! Being a nerd gets you chicks!!!!! get in there my son!!!:toast::toast::toast:
     
  22. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    the mirage 661 is a directX 7 class IGP though slower than a TNT2. Oldblivion won't even be playable on it. You'd be lucky to get even morrowwind to get 5FPS,
     
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,073 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    OMG OMG!!!! you said TNT2 (my first ever proppah grafiks card)
     
  24. Valdez

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    lol :)
     
  25. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    where in the hell do you get that from ? the x1950xt rapes a 7600gt any day of the week :shadedshu

    with a 3ghz p4 i would maybe go with somthing like a 8600gt/2600pro, anything better will be severley bottleknecked by that proc and a waste of money imo
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page