1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what the hell is OC

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by i nEeD HeLp, Apr 25, 2009.

  1. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    ok i now what OC is but how do you do it? does it make your computer run any faster? and if so can you people tell me how to over clock my computer. i have a

    Processor Number 1
    Name AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+
    Speed [Estimated] 2009MHz
    Speed [Registry] 2009MHz
    Processor Type OEM Primary
    APIC Physical ID 0x00

    what ever all that means. so would it be possible for a easy to foloow guide (maybe with pics) for my model?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  2. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    what type of motherboard?
  3. AKlass New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    judging from his emachines case he has an emachines which wont OC
  4. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    emachines don't OC?

    ps how do u find out what kind of mother board you have?
  5. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Read this. I learned what OC is and how to do it by reading this guide. Kursah is my hero.

    And yes, some machines don't want to be oc'ed. My laptop for example.
    i nEeD HeLp and Kursah say thanks.
  6. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    oh, didnt see that... best thing for that... toss out window :D
  7. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    that hurts man:(
  8. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    lol. sorry dude... just messing
    i nEeD HeLp says thanks.
  9. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    i know ......lol
  10. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    so i cant do it
  11. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Run CPU-Z to find out all the chip/mobo stuff without cracking open your case.
    i nEeD HeLp says thanks.
  12. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    is there a way i can copy/paste results here?
  13. exon1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    The PCs you buy in shops can't be OCed ;s
    Next time you buy a PC, ask here for advice ;)
    i nEeD HeLp says thanks.
  14. exon1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Print Screen xD
  15. kyle2020 Guest

    Drop us a print screen, however im 90% sure that if its a prebuilt machine thats mass made, ie emachines, dell, gateway and so on, that the motherboard will not have overclocking features.
  16. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    yep... pretty much the only way you can oc is if you built the computer yourself. the motherboards they use in prebuilt machines are oem motherboards and have no such thing as overclocking options
    i nEeD HeLp says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    ok thanks anyways.
    oh one more question im getting a new video card this week, would i be able to OC that?
  18. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Yeah you can use software for that. Rivatuner, ATI tool, or evga precision (if it's evga card) can all be used vc tweaks.
    i nEeD HeLp says thanks.
  19. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    you can use evga precision on any nvidia card. I used it on my 8600gts and even my integrated 8100
    farlex85 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. js01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    170 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    If you know the clock generator you can use this program here http://www13.plala.or.jp/setfsb/
    But it's probably too confusing for somebody that's never overclocked before.
  21. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,949 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    2 questions, how much memory ram do you have?
    Also, what slots do you have and what card are you buying.

    And Thank you for supporting eMachines!
  22. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I thought that was the case but I couldn't remember.

    :laugh: Yes god knows where we'd be w/o emachines. :rolleyes:
    Binge says thanks.
  23. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,516 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,039
    Id be careful of card selection as well. Look into the PSU in that emachines and see if it will even power what you are after.
  24. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    +1 A few years ago I picked up a bajillion of their lappies from a warehouse. Gateway still sold them a year or two later. They were solid laptops. I made a nice $$$ selling them to people and bought myself a real machine :D
  25. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,949 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    He has the model T3265 , but i can't seem to find anything on it. My guess he has one 16x pcie slot .

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page