1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What to believe??

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by spencer22l, May 3, 2009.

  1. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    -
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2011
  2. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Go with real temp just to be safe. It's the highest.

    There is a way to figure out the temp numbers but I don't know how.
    spencer22l says thanks.
  3. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Yeah i would say real temp as well
    spencer22l says thanks.
  4. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    -
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2011
  5. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,451 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Everest has always been right on the money for me according to my BIOS. So I stick with that. Overall temp is most important. Not the temp of each individual core.
    spencer22l says thanks.
  6. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    -
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2011
  7. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,451 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Not according to Intel
    spencer22l says thanks.
  8. AllHopeIsGone1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Add the FIRST numbers in temperature and distance to TJ max and that's your "set TJ max" settings. Mine is 100.
    spencer22l says thanks.
  9. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I don't understand you..
    The numbers are constantly changing, and I noticed thanks to you that
    my coretemp's max is 95 whereas the realtemp's is 100.

    And in Everest it's just on auto and I can't seem to check what it is set to.
  10. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Cant really do that as it depends what the software has set TJmax as.

    95 is the real spec from intel, though 100 is closer to the real IHS temp, as you lose ~5 in the transfer between the die and IHS.

    IMO Realtemp is the most accurate for current Intel Core based CPUs.
    spencer22l says thanks.
  11. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Aight, guys, then I'll just stick with TJmax 100 real temp :)
  12. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,174 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    If you set the tjmax on everest,it shows the same temps as realtemp,and shows on the G15 scren too....bonus.
  13. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yes, it worked. But what is G15? :confused:
  14. jgagnon1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  15. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,583 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Logitech G15 Keyboard

    Personally I watch Distance to TJMax instead of actual temp readings. ATM my Q6600 stays about 42-45 below TJMax on the heaviest of loads (stress test, crunching @ 100%), and usually around 55 below TJMax while gaming at it's current OC. CPU temps read way too low for me to believe them, if I did my CPU would hit about 36-38C load in Everest/Asus AI/Bios. Which is fine, but for me reading the cores is more important for preference, and know that I prefer to keep max of 30C to TJMax on an OC has kept me safe and stable. To each their own, but for me this method works very well.

    :toast:
  16. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Oohhhhh the keyboarrd, so it shows there :laugh:

    That's actually a good idea too, I try to keep my temp under 70 on max.
    Right now I'm fine, with prime I get no higher than 55~56 :)
  17. Naekuh

    Naekuh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Miko Fox? Fire Miko? Its FireFox-Tan!
    what im scratching my head about is..

    how do you guys know realtemp is better without knowing what CPU he has?

    His sig says its an Old school C2D E6750 to be exact... so i would think coretemp was the better program in his case.

    Really? i wouldnt think so since unclewebb wrote this program more for yorkfields and wolfdales when it first came out and not conroes, which the OP has. :p

    My vote is coretemp, because coretemp has never failed me when i was overclocking C2D. Infact most standards with your cpu was conducted on coretemp, so i would go with the original.
    tigger says thanks.
  18. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,174 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    Realtemp showed 32c and coretemp showed 27c,so which is the closest for my cpu then?
  19. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,451 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Whats the BIOS say?
  20. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    It doesent matter when the software was written, just what the assumed tjmax is. :)
  21. Naekuh

    Naekuh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Miko Fox? Fire Miko? Its FireFox-Tan!
    yeah true, but coretemp would of had the true tjmax a long time b4 realtemp is what im trying to say. :p
  22. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    True.

    IMO i use both since for the most part they do exactly the same thing, though Realtemp picks up GPU, and display core usage wich is nice as well.
  23. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    real temp last version

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page