1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What to do with a huge amount of RAM?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by n-ster, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    So I bought 24GB of RAM, HyperX DDR3 1600, and I was going to use it to make money off an idea that needed many VMware Machines running, while still leaving me enough RAM for my own use. Unfortunately, that idea got pretty much stolen from me, so I cannot really make a profit from it anymore. :banghead::shadedshu

    So.... I got 24GB of RAM, and I use even less than I did before. I stopped PhotoShop and Illustrator, and don't need Virtual Machines anymore. What could I possibly do with the extra ~20GB I have of RAM? :pimp:
  2. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,716 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    1. Make a RAMDisk.

    2. Install Crysis.

    3. ???

    4. PROFIT!
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,489 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    just out of cuiroisty, what was the idea?
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Its a waist unless you are running like 50 VM servers
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Take up video editing, 3d video editing.

    In 4x HD resolution.
    digibucc says thanks.
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Crysis on a RAMDisk? lol? it ran fine on my Vertex 2 RAID 0 array :p Not sure what half useful thing I could actually do on a RAMdisk

    that was kinda the point before my idea was stolen lol


    I plea the fifth! :D

    to people who don't know what that means

    Interesting idea, but I don't particularly like 3D video editing :( any other RAM intensive stuff like that come to mind?
  7. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Could take up digital sculpting?

    http://www.pixologic.com/sculptris/

    Free and fun to use.

    Although not 100% if it's v-ram limited, I get crashes after I go past x million polygons.
    n-ster says thanks.
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I'm not much of an artsy type :eek: photo editing is basically the furthest I go

    is there any programming stuff that uses lots of vmem?
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You will need CPU power to backup that amount of VM servers as well.

    I wished I could find the bench they did with a SR2 board with two 980x chips and 64GB of RAM on how many VMwares it would do before choking.
    n-ster says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,416 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,395
    Location:
    IA, USA
    RAM drive is where it's at. Read/write speeds of 20+ GB/s versus what, 500 MB/s?

    That's the only thing that really uses up a ton of RAM space.
    n-ster says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    absolutely right, except what I was doing (on modified OS) did not use much CPU power

    What to use it for?
  12. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,539 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Setup µTorrent to use it for download cache :)
  13. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,519 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    If it was stolen why not say? Anyways the best thing I can think of is to simply sell the excess. Maybe even sell it all as a set and get yourself a faster 8 gb kit.
  14. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,489 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    World of Warcraft. :p

    But if it was me I'd go with LAN's idea.
  15. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    902 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    241
    I'm with: sell the excess, point of view. I have 12Gb (2GB x 6) = overkill.
  16. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    744 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Sell it and get new ram, i have now 12gb 2ghz c10 ram and it is overkill, but i likr the idea that i'am just use 10% in windows in idle mode xd
  17. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I'd prefer to keep the excess and let it do close to nothing as a RAM drive than sell it =/ Money isn't a problem...

    I just want to find how they might be useful to me :D

    So far, a RAMDisk seems to be the logical solution, and perhaps installing my most used programs and maybe even 1 game?
  18. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,716 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Word of warning: it'll be wiped out when you turn off the machine.
  19. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    902 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    241
    If you had one good idea, and you know it works, then get a new business deal going somewhere else.

    Make your investment pay a return!
  20. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,405 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Just use one that allows save to disk.
  21. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    Sell the ram and obtain hookers. The only logical path.
  22. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Windows 7 will actually use it to prefetch programs you use often. So it's kinda like having an SSD for caching, except it takes a few minutes for everything to get loaded in at startup.
  23. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    902 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    241
    How many and what services?:twitch:

    Are you a Charlie Sheen fan???
  24. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Yea I use very small RAM disks already :toast:

    I don't shutdown my computer often anyways, at worst it is on standby ;)

    I think I will start using photoshop again and make a RAMDisk :pimp: if you guys have any others ideas, let me know
  25. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    For what that ram is worth, you better plan on double wrapping considering the poor selection of hookers you'd be able to afford. :laugh: Better off keeping it for a ramdisk.
    meangenius and yogurt_21 say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page