1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What to do with a huge amount of RAM?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by n-ster, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Or stippers and some blow. Same result.
     
  2. Hotobu

    Hotobu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    278 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Someone already suggested ram dicks.
     
    LordJummy says thanks.
  3. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I'm not interested in strippers, hookers or alcohol :p anything a bit more useful?

    I'm having fun compressing with 7-zip
     
  4. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Database everything. Tune it to use several GB's for key buffer, temporary tables, etc.
     
  5. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    I'm sorry but I couldn't help but crack up over this.

    Reminds me of one of my first visits to Mexico... This guy was selling music CD's on the beach in Cancun and he was yelling "Compact DICKS for sale!" He couldn't pronounce discs in English lol. I will never forget that because he was yelling it at the top of his lungs to attract customers...
     
    meangenius and timta2 say thanks.
  6. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah guys he gets off on "compressing with 7-Zip" so the "party favors" suggestions are barking up the wrong tree here...

    (heheh couldn't help myself...)
     
    n-ster says thanks.
  7. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,119 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    do contests on here?
     
    de.das.dude and Wrigleyvillain say thanks.
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    :roll:

    Does anyone know better compressing programs like 7-zip for specific types of files? (ie: winzip is good with JPEG and other pics)
     
  9. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    No normal computing will need all that amount of memory... so i reckon you should sell it... and if money is not important to you, you could have a techpowerup comeptition for the excess sticks :)

    ...Or maybe swap it for something you would normally not buy with another forum user maybe?
     
  10. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    If you were to sell it, what would the price be?
     
  11. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Give me some:D
     
  12. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Let me make this more clear.... I JUST bought this at ~200$ total and I DO NOT INTEND TO SELL IT OR PART WITH IT. Money is not a problem as in I don't absolutely need the money, I don't mind it being invested in RAM

    if I were to sell it, it would be for 90~100$ for a 3x4GB kit, but it isn't going to happen

    so far, I've been compressing stuff the whole day :)
     
  13. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    well then you dont have many options as you dont want to sell it give it away, use programs requiring the amount like video editing, VM's etc... um... not sure what to suggest?
     
  14. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I'd like to use VMs or memory intensive programs.... but I'm not going to open 50 VMs just because I can n watch a blank screen. That and I'm not very artsy, so drawing or making movie clips is not for me.

    If there is anything that requires a bunch of RAM that I can learn or do, I'm all for it! atm I am compressing whatever I can, and the full 24GB is being used since a few hours.
     
  15. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Man just ten years ago I was still using some 20GB hard drives.
     
  16. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    lol just a couple of months ago, I built a 4 cpu supermicro server with 512GB of ram :D
     
  17. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,872 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    You can't steal an idea, only copy it, just like data can only be copied.

    That RAM must have cost you a pretty penny. I say either sell it (TPU or eBay) and cut your losses. Or heck, keep it and have loads of epeen. :D
     
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,738 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    My first packard bell had 4MB of SIMM RAM. LOL
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,885 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    you can use it for making art?

    glue them together to make art pieces?

    or make tests on durability, i.e. water, heat etc :D
     
  20. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,945 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,215
    Give away :)
     
  21. meangenius

    meangenius New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    I've had $40 ones and $800 ones, they all cost too much.
     
  22. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    turn it up to 11? 24gbs of ram is a lot. Just saying. I have no other useful information. sorry.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    I'de just ramdisk a ton.
    If you had a 700mb/s+ internet connection download stuff to your ramdisk then transfer to a hdd
    I have 16gb, I could get by w/ 8.
     
  24. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I already have 2* Vertex 2 in RAID 0, that is capable of 500MBps writing. so I'd need a >4Gbps internet connection to take advantage of a RAMDisk for that situation lol

    I think I know how to use my RAM now so it is OK, thanks :p I could use 10/12GB of the RAM I had before so adding a RAMDisk and perhaps a game onto that, I should be able to utilise my RAM pretty good
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page