1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What to do with old laptop

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by james888, Feb 3, 2013.

  1. patrico

    patrico

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    336 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    ireland, galway
    nicest suggestion, gain yourself a few karma points :)
     
  2. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,946 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    What model laptop is it?

    Edit - I recently acquired a 1.86Ghz Celeron with 500mb DDR2. I upgraded it to a core 2 dua (T5300) with 2 gb of ram and gave it to my daughter to play flash games on and such. If you could upgrade the CPU you would have more options.
     
  3. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Why not turn it into a 24/7 cruncher? It would cost very little to run and every little bit counts.
     
  4. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,054 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,340
    Acer aspire 4315-2535

    Since this thread has been revived...

    My aunt wants to lend my grandparents her laptop so that they can use her netflix account for some series she wants them to watch. I the other day had the idea of using some linux on usb and give them this instead of my aunt lending hers.
     
  5. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,665 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Not a bad idea:toast:
     
    james888 says thanks.
  6. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    I would use it as a media center computer. it's small enough to hide under the tv with your DVD player and control it with a wireless remote or mouse.
     
    james888 says thanks.
  7. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,946 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    james888 says thanks.
  8. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,054 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,340
    If I did upgrade the processor there is still not much it can do. I think I found the perfect use.
     
  9. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,946 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    It would allow it to use less power and be able to stream HD better. Those celerons are pretty weak. I upgraded the one for my daughter for $6 for the cpu and $15 for the ram.
     
    james888 says thanks.
  10. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,054 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,340
    To upgrade the cpu would be about $4 and about $15 for the memory looking at ebay. Not bad. I just took the heatsink off to make sure it was upgradable. I am not planning on upgrading it but it is nice to know that is an option. I would probably go for the t5850 because it has the highest clock.
     
  11. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    Get a t3400 it's a 2.16ghz pentium dual core and you should be able to get for under 5$
     
  12. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,946 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    core 2 duos are not much more. My 1.86ghz laptop cpu was only $6.

    You could make it into a mini-mod project. Upgrade it, put some keyboard lights in, fix the screen and then sell it.

    I'm just throwing ideas around atm. Your best bet is still just to use it as a netflix box.
     
  13. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,054 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,340
    Why do that when I could go all the way up to the t7100 for a high price of $3.85, at least at the moment.
     
  14. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,603 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I just upgraded my laptop from a Core Duo 1.8GHz to a Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz added an extra gig of memory. It's much snappier than it was before. Definitely worth the ~$25 I spent on it in total (older socket M = 2GHz costs more).
     
  15. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,054 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,340
    Of couse, I bring it over to their house and it decides not to boot. I did take the cpu out and put it back in. I am pretty sure I did nothing wrong. I even used a better thermal paste than what it had. Edit: Had a ramstick cocked halfway out. Der der
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2013
  16. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,155 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    804
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Shoot it... alot
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,864 (9.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,345
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    lol

    [​IMG]
     
  18. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,054 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,340
    Eh... I would rather blow it up. Tanerite or something. Shooting just makes holes.

    lol. Oops. Edited it to a verb cocked.


    My grampa was actually the one who got me into computers kinda. He used to work for a big computer company and got to play with the cool stuff. The minute I mentioned I could upgrade the laptop for cheap he wanted me to. Looks like that will happen.
     
  19. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,054 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,340
    Ok. Finally got around to buying a better cpu off ebay. I got a p8400 because it was cheapest 2ghz+ cpu at the time. Anyways, I can't get it to work with the new cpu. When I look up how other people did, even with the exact model, all I find are success stories. I upgraded the bios to the latest version too. I kept reading any socket p cpu will work, maybe it is only some.

    When I try to start the computer with the p8400 the fan turns on for a second but that is it. Nothing more.
     
  20. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,047 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,537
    Could be a dead cpu.
     
  21. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,054 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,340
    Could be, the guy had 100% feedback from well over 3000 and only seems to sell laptop cpu's. I have thought of that though.
     
  22. Geekoid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    77 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    UK
  23. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,946 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Did you upgrade the bios before changing the cpu?

    Another thing to be aware of is that you are replacing a 533mhz fsb chip with a 1066mhz one. Did you check what FSB's your motherboard could support?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page