1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What used high end socket 775 mb?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by gasolin, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    391 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    I have a q6600 cpu oc'ed to 3.0 with a artic cooler pro 7 with no heat problems, 8 gb kingston hyper x 1600mhz ddr3 ram (I can only use my ram at 1333mhz because of my gigabyte mb limitations, oc'ed, std of my mb is 1066mhz, so i can only get 3.0 ghz) 1x320 gb for os, 1x320gb for music, and a 1x500gb harddrive for film, all wd caviar (last one i can/can't use is a 500gb seagate, only have 4 sata on my mb) and a gtx 560.

    I want up to 3.6 ghz (need a 1600mhz ram socket 775 mb, my multipier is limited to 9), want to use raid 0 because of the speed (again another mb), and in the future 2 x gtx 560 for later on a 120hz 27" screen.


    So i need an old high end motherboard that can use my 1600mhz ddr 3 ram at 1600mhz, sli and raid 0.(much cheeper then buying a new mb and a i5/i7 cpu)

    But what mb? What would you recomend me to look for?

    (I know it must be a used one, and a mb thats possible to get in denmark, on less i want to buy one on ebay or another place, have no experience of buying used hardware outside of denmark, other then a new sound blaster usb soundcard)
     
  2. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,349 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2012
  3. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,128 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    601
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    I got my trusty Abit IP35 Pro kicking around still. It won't do DDR3 but it was a great overclocker.
     
  4. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    391 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Just that with 3.0ghz (cpu) i am no where near the limit om my cpu and a used high end mb and another gtx 560 cost about 150 euros a new mb i5 cpu and another gtx 560 (used) cost about 250-300 euros
     
  5. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    391 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
  6. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,357 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,100
    The 790i then?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    391 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
  8. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,250 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Location:
    Canada
  9. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,128 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    601
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
  10. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    391 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26

    :eek:
     
  11. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,357 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,100
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    As long as the GPU and OS support DX11 then it shouldn't matter what board you're using, it only says that it supports DX10 because that was the version of the API out at that time. (theonedub beat me to it)^

    I loved my old EVGA 680i board had tons of features and looked sexy as well. I do remember though all the problems that people and tech sites were reporting on with these boards plus they don't take DDR3 memory. But as mentioned the 790i or an Asus board are generally both solid picks.
     
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,721 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,681
    If you want SLI and DDR3, then the 790i is the only option. IIRC, the Striker II Extreme was one of the top dogs for that category.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,250 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Location:
    Canada
    I should have specified that the Asus boards i listed are crossfire only, my bad :eek:

    Stryker or 790i are the best options for SLi, if going eVGA i strongly suggest/reccomend some sctive MoBo cooling
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page