1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what video card to get?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by transamkid86, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. transamkid86 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    need help on what video card to get. i have a desktop that says on the front AMD sempron processor 3400+ 512mb mem. 120gb hard drive w/ nvidia geforce 6100 graphics /pci express slot i am lookin to upgarde the card to a better one but i dont know where to start. i guess any geforce card is better then that, but im only looking to spend about 100-150$ dollers since i play a lot of x-box live so any help would be greatful.
     
  2. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    The type of card depends on the games in which you currently play, future upcoming game purchases and how much longevity you expect from the video card. I can confirm straight away that even the most high end card wouldn't be suffice as your Sempron processor is slow and below standard for current games, also 512 MB isn't enough for gaming.

    I'd recommend you up your budget slightly (double it) and invest in a cheap dual core processor such as the 4000+ x2 and at least 2 GB of ram.

    Could you please tell us your full system specification such as motherboard model number and memory type. Download CPU-Z as it will give you a rundown of your specification. http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

    Edit: The more detail you specify the more I can help you, download CPU-Z. If your content with Warcraft you can find a solution within budget, however it's the newer games that will play crappish with without a processor and ram upgrade too.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2008
  3. transamkid86 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i will try to find out more but i was renting this computer and i just got done paying it off. but do you guys thing maybe it will be cheaper to just buy a new computer all together? and pretty much the only game i play online is world of warcraft. and even then i have the graphics on low lol but as for the # of the mother board there is one on the front (if it is for the motherboad) it is SR2168HM hope this helps...
     
  4. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    That processor is too slow to really keep up with any video card that is going to run that range... If you double the amount you can spend you can pretty easily smash that computer to the stone age and get a decent video card.
     
  5. transamkid86 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok i dont know how to really read that thing i downloaded but hear it goes lol,
    MB model # NYSSA
    MEM. TYPE DDR2 im sorry i dont know about this stuff but i hope that helps if you need to know anything eles let me know. thx
     
  6. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,393 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    AZ
    it really depends on whetehr wow is going to be the only game you play. if you plan on future pc gaming, you could always get decent gpu now and upgrade your cpu and memory as you save up. it will allow you to play wow with higher details (providing your internet is fast enough) but will also be bottlnecked.

    a core2duo or am2 upgrade would be prefered which would likely add at least 150$ (50$ mobo, 40$ mem and 60$ cpu)to your bottomline. (making the total rig upgrade250-300$) I've got a coupon code for a 9600gt which would pair nicely with a low end am2/ core2duo rig. and you could always sell your 3400 sempy and 512 ram to make up some of the difference.
     
  7. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    if your on a tight budget, then stick with the cpu you have, buy yourself a cheap 8600gts/ 2600xt and another gig of ram (although i wouold reccomend 2 gig which can be had for as little as around $50-$60?) , and that should give you a lot better perf than the onboard gpu your running at the minute and let you crank wow all the way up at the same time playing more graphic intensive games too.
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    get an 8500GT and 2x1GB of ram should be in the same price range
     
  10. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    I say a 8800gs or 9600gso. And upgrade your memory to 2gb.
     
  11. transamkid86 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thx a lot guys. now i have one more question, what is a good site to order these things or should i just go to a store like bestbuy?

    sry didnt see the link
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    idk the psu's on those are usually 300w, I dont think thats enough for a 9600/8800..
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Best buy will RIP YOU OFF. Get everything from Newegg.

    http://www.newegg.com/
     
  14. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    exactly, its a compaq presario i think, and im betting it wont have a 6pin pcie power connector either. yea there are converters 4pin > 6pin pcie but the psu wont handle anything like a 8800/9600

    i still reccomend a 8600gt, its fast enough to play newer games and oc's like a beast, also doesnt require any other power than what it draws from the pcie slot
     
  15. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,393 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    AZ
    noooooooooo. steer clear of the best buy. overpriced and no selection.

    newegg.com or zipzoomfly.com

    if you're interested this card:
    http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=10007955
    is 10$ off with this code: ZZF7955V10
    making it 130$ a steal for the performance you get.

    then you could always go for these for memory
    http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=85025-5

    which puts you a hair above your budget, but you could always sell your 512stck in your rig to make up for it.

    edit: and I've been able to run this on a 300w without issue.
     
  16. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    add in the price of a new psu aswell :rolleyes:

    btw i think this is his SPECS
     
  17. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    I have seen many people running a 8800gs on 300w.
     
  18. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    and your point being ? doesnt mean he can, and doesnt mean it wont crap out after a month if it does run, if he wants to take the risk of his psu going pop down the line then fair enough but that could take out a number of other compnents in the process, and as the op stated he is on a tight budget i dont think he wants to be building/buying a whole new pc because of a crap psu. besides you wont get any more perf from a 8800gs with that proc than he would with a 8600gt/2600xt which seem to be perfectly suited for his needs.
     
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    why the sam hell is everyone saying things so powerful an 8500GT or 2400PRO would work fine for this application...he is playing games you could play on onboard 8200 or 3200 and 8500GT would be overkill but its good enough to play everything but crysis now its more than ebough for WoW!

    plus leaves room for 2x1GB or even 2x2GB
     
  20. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    true its fine for wow but the reason i keep on banging on about 8600gt its a hell of a lot better than a 8500 and isnt overkill like a frickin 9600 :laugh: its cheap but oc's like hell and will play most/all games that way if he wants to game on his pc more it will serve him a lot better than a 8500 which imo isnt worth the upgrade and wont play much more than WOW, its a htpc/ media centre card imo and nothing more. and with a 8600gt, he'll still have enough left to get 2gb ram, and have a nice average pc that will play most games not too shabbily
     
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    hat gamed well on a 8500GT its about as powerful as a 7800GS
     
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    No the 8500GT is about as good as a 7600GS, which can max WoW! I used to have a 7600GS but I couldnt have AA or filtering so I think a 8600GT would be best.
     
  24. transamkid86 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok so im going to go with a 8600gt with 1 or 2 gb of ram and do i still have to get a new psu?
     
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    no
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page