1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what was your first computer?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by candle_86, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    That Cyrix thread got me thinkin way back to my first computer ever, got me gaming even, Starfleet Acadamey, those where the days

    Intel Pentium 133
    Intel mobo cant remember chipset
    32mb EDO SIMM
    512k L2 Cache Chip :D
    2.3gb Seagate HD
    ISA video card, upgrade it to Voodoo Graphics in 97
    24x CD-Rom
    SoundBlaster 2
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    idk but I played the hell outta Age of Empires and Diablo on it... idk the specs I was so young.
     
  3. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    LOL pretty damn similar to that actually. I think it was a 4Gb HDD though...I really don't remember. I must have been 10 i think...

    (I'd had PCs before that, but not my own personal one)
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    I don't remember the exact specs, I just remember that it was a 8MHz 286 and was quickly replaced with a 33MHz 386. I don't remember the exact specs for either of those computers, just the processors.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    486 DX2-66
    board - no idea
    1mb cirrus logic ISA video
    8mb edo ram
    4x CDRom

    1st ever pc game i pld on it was Doom 2
     
  6. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Commodore (the 1 before the 64):laugh:
     
  7. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,566 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
  9. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
  10. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,466 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,168
    my first pc was an IBM 5150. it had a blazingly fast 4.77MHz DIP chip processor.
     
  11. acperience7

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    258 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    I'm still using my first PC. A Dell 4600i. It's really the family's computer, but I use it the most by far.

    Shipped specs:
    3.0Ghz P4(SL6WK)
    1GB Samsung PC3200
    120GB Seagate Barracuda(7200 rpm)
    ATI 9800Pro 128MB(agp 8x)
    Creative Sound Blaster Live!
    THX 500W 5.1 sound system
    19'' Dell LCD
    CD/DVD +RW Drive
    DVD ROM Drive
    3.5 floppy drive
    250W PSU
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Thats pretty good for a dell
     
  13. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,430 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Gateway

    P75
    8MB RAM
    Trio32 2MB Video
    Ensoniq Sound (not 100% sure, I just know I didn't have a real Sound Blaster)
    4x CD-ROM
    730MB HD
    Telepath 14.4 Modem
    Gateway Tower Case (sweet!!!!!)
    Gateway Vivitron 17" (even sweeter! lasted me like 3-4 years as my main monitor, then another 3-4 as a secondary monitor)

    After reading about this "overclocking" thing I tried it out. The 75, 90, and 100 were all 1.5x chips, so there was only a single jumper for the three bus speeds. Stock was 50Mhz, tried 60Mhz, worked, tried 66Mhz and bam! Had a nice Pentium 100! First box, first overclocking experience as well.
     
  14. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    Apple IIc, with integrated Keyboard and built in 5 1/4 inch floppy. FTL:)
     
  15. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    cyrix 133
    4 mb ram
    1 mb vid
    830 mb hdd
    14.4 modem
    8X cd rom
    1.44 floppy
    win95 keyboard
     
  16. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    K6-2 450MHz
    Compaq motherboard, pulled out of my friend's old compaq. (My system was NOT a compaq :))
    256MB PC100
    128MB Hollywood PCI Multimedia Vid. Card
    10GB HDD

    Built it back in like 1998-ish. Had it from then 'till I signed up here, in 07.
     
  17. bud951

    bud951 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    The Timex Sinclair 1000, Then the TI 99/4a back in the early 80's. I never did anything but type my name on those.

    My first real PC.. was a Dell 400mhz in 1998.. Started it all for me.
     
  18. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Compaq Presario:
    Amd Duron 700 mhz
    64mb pc100 ram
    Nvidia 8 mb video card
    Cd-rom
    20 gb WD HDD
    Windows ME

    Man did that computer blow! Even when I upped the ram to 512 mb, added a cd burner, a 2nd HDD and installed XP I still hated it. The day it died was one of the happiest days of my life.
     
  19. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    Pentium MMX 200mhz
    32mb ram (top of the line then!)
    8x CD Rom
    512MB Hardrive

    Still have it, although I refuse to turn it on. Bought it from a local computer shop for $2200 dollars. The CD rom drive had failed 3 weeks after we got it and they didnt have any more 8x in stock, so they gave me a 16x(149 dollars then!!) for free!! I had many 386 and 486 machines but the mmx was my first real computer(first one that got me on the web, 14.4Kbs)!

    Oh I do remember upgrading my 386 machine with windows 3.0 to 3.1 then using 17 floppies to upgrade to windows 95. Took over 5 hours!
     
  20. Graogrim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    308 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    East Coast US
    My first computer was a TI-99/4A. My father wouldn't buy any games for it until I learned enough BASIC to write a loan amortization program for him.
     
  21. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Hmm first one I extensively used: K6-2, like 500 mhz or something that, 512 mb of ram, 40 gb hdd, cd burner/dvd reader (i think one of, if not the best kind of drive at that time), some compaq mobo (yeah it was a compaq), 17" crt, dial-up.

    First I owned-the laptop in my specs.
     
  22. Starcrusher New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sinclair ZX-81 upgraded with 2K and I put it together from a kit! Then I got the 64K module and I was waaaaay overpowered!!!
     
  23. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    486 DX2 66MHz I think we had 4mb ram. I think it had windows 3.0 (dunno I was like 8)

    I remember going to the PC show and getting windows 3.1, MS Works, 4mb ram, and a creative soundcard & 2x CD drive :roll:
     
  24. Graogrim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    308 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    East Coast US
    The first time I went to an actual computer show, I ended up buying my first modem. Well, actually I think my dad paid for it for me. It was 300 baud. For about $10. For my Commodore 64.

    I've been online in some form or another ever since.
     
  25. gerrynicol New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    758 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland, Falkirk
    33Mhz 386 2MB ram, 80meg HDD, on board sound and video(can't remember type) and a 15"Svga monitor:rockout:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page