1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What will increase my Benchmarks?????

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by 20mmrain, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Hello recently I have got into allot of benchmarking. Especially on Future Mark 3D Vantage. I have a Diamond Radeon HD5870, a Q9550@ 3.4, G.skill 4Gig 800MHZ(1:1) Raio, Western digital 7200RPM 500Gig HDD 32MB, Corsair 750TX PSU, and a Gigabyte EP45-UD3R.

    My CPU can go much higher but before I do it and then leave it that way I plan to buy some faster RAM. I'm going to go with either 4Gigs of 1066MHZ Corsair or some G.Skill 4Gigs 1150MHZ

    I have building for a long time but I would like to know...... when benchmarking how much does the speed and latency of your RAM make a difference before I make my choice. Obviously the faster speed the more overclock head room but will it also translate to the benchmarks as well? I guess the reason I am asking I am a little disappointed in my benchmark scores. I will run one and then post back in a minute.
    But besides the RAM question I was wondering if anyone who has benchmarking for along time could possibly give me some other pointers on how to hone my skills. Thanks guys......BRB to post some scores.....

    [​IMG]

    See they are not horribly low and my GPU is still at stock but I thought for sure I would get higher than this. I have overclocked my 5870 and I did reach 16800 or there about. But I was thinking that I would be about there with out my having to overclock. This score is with PPU disabled.
    I also do understand that most of the benchies that I have been seeing are done with i7's and done on a perfect condition. But still just a little disappointed. That's why I thought maybe someone could shed some light for a new bench marker as I am one.

    Also I do apologize if this is posted in the wrong area I just thought becasue it's more pertaining to overclocking the whole computer this would be the right place.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 21, 2009
  2. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I forsee someone upgrading to an i7 in the future... :D
     
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,287 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,775
    Benchmarks are kinda a gimmick man. I run them for fun but the real meat and potato's is what is your computer used for? See my computer is a gaming rig but it benches like crap compared to an i7. However in gaming it hangs with an i7 in most areas and even beats it sometimes. Hell even an i9 (6 core) barley beats a 965 in gaming but destroys it in benches or any multi-threded application. It all comes down to your needs.
     
    KieX says thanks.
  4. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I mean you do make a great point. My computer is mainly for gaming..... and all of those run wonderfully. I mean I am averaging 45 FPS even in Crysis Warhead even on Enthusiast with no AA.
    But I still don't mind running benches ....... You know what I mean if you can get a better score than another guy ..... It kind of gives you that extra inch on you man hood if you get me drift:)

    But maybe I shouldn't worry about it so much I mean I am still running a 15600 GPU score at stock speeds. That's way more than my GTX 285 FTW did.
    (Although I'm assuming I got a higher score with that card because of the Physx)(At the time I didn't have Future Mark Advanced so I couldn't disable PPU)

    But if anyone's got any thoughts let me know thanks.
     
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,287 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,775
    Buy a cheap Nvidia card to handle the Physx part of benches and with your new 5870 watch your scores blow up.
     
  6. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    I think by the chance that you q9550 might be bottle necking that 3dmark bench to. I would go overclock it 3.8-4.0ghz and watch the score rize 1,000 pionts or more :D

    Raising Ram speed while keeping low timings should also in fact produce 500 pionts or more ive really not seen much, It will improve the CPU score though :D
     
  7. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    CC but because my motherboard isn't Xfire compatible I was thinking of getting the PCI version of the 9400GT or a Dedicated Physx card for that. But I'm not sure how well that will work.

    Does anyone know how well tat will work and how stable that Physx crack with ATI cards is?

    It does go up to 4.0 (with good temps) But I didn't feel comfortable leaving my overclock that high with the RAM that I have. So that kind of leads to that RAM question I asked earlier.
     
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    If you want to upgrade ram, just try to find a kit that will do CAS4 1:1 with whatever bus speed you think you will achieve. If going for 450fsb, try to find a kit capable of 900Mhz CAS4. Clocking more will add to your score, but not a whole bunch like what happens in 06.

    For true bench differences, i7 is the way to go.
     
  9. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Yeah I think you might be right about the i7 area Wille........ But if that's the case I might just put up with it until 32nm tech comes out. I just thought that since I am still new to the whole benchmarking area if there was maybe a quick fix or something I didn't know about.
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Just clock more, and upgrade components that hold back your clocking along the way. That's really all you can do in the meantime. It's just a bunch of trial and error.
     
  11. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well than I appreciate the advice Wile E I guess than I'm doing what I should be doing. So I guess upgrading the RAM for a higher overclock would be taking me in the right direction.
    Well guys when I am up at 4.0 Ghz I will post it with the benchmarks you can guarantee.

    BTW 3volvedcombat posted that 3.4 was still bottle necking this card. Not that I am doubting him but I thought for sure 3.4 would be enough to get rid of most of that. Maybe I should raise it up temporarily to 3.6 and see how much my GPU score goes up from that. If it goes up a lot than it was but if not than it probably isn't that much. But I will try it:)
     
  12. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well maybe it is my CPU causing a little bottle neck check out these new Results. I overclocked my CPU back up to 3.6......... The first two are with the CPU @3.6 and the 5870 @ 900/1300........the last one is with the CPU @3.6 and the 5870 at 850/1200 stock speeds......

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    As you can see I did get the GPU score up above 16000 and I also got the CPU score up above 14000

    So in conclusion if I upgrade the RAM and go for a more stable and higher over clock. You were right I will probably get my GPU score up around 17000 and maybe my whole system up around 18000 if not higher with a little tweaking.

    All this and I won't have to spend another 300 dollars to go i7 just yet. I am Happy:)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Less than a 1 fps difference in the graphics tests tho. The points gain comes from the cpu scores. So you aren't bottlenecked for gameplay at all. You are now at the point of dimishing returns for Vantage and cpu clocking. Not much else is gonna add a ton of points, aside from OCing your card.
     
  14. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    So your saying that increasing my card is the best I can do right now besides just getting more CPU points as well.
    Damn I said that funny oh well you understood what I meant. But anyway...... Good thing my card can clock. I did have this bad boy up to about 950 /1360 w/o voltage increase(stable) with
    AMD GPU tool and MSI after burner. But I didn't want to leave it that way because from what I hear ATI will be eventually unlocking a higher OC in the CCC. Who knows if this is true or just a rumor.
    But I guess there is no real way around it. To get more points I will just have to go i7 or i9. Maybe even switch to the dark side AMD when their 6 and 12 cores come out in Q1 January.

    So thanks bud for the info...... But if anyone else still has any other thoughts they are always more than welcome.! So keep'em coming.
     
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    You could also try throwing an nV card in there for Physx. That will be a healthy boost, but it won't be official scores.

    If you throw a dedicated Physx card in there, clocking the cpu does almost nothing. lol.
     
  16. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    W E's and crew have a good idea with the physics GPU. My thoughts are with a nice system like what you have I'd wait to go for a 930 (i7 920 with 32nm) and look out for deals on a next gen (SATA/USB3) x58.
     
  17. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    i see you have nice system here , other thing for performance not for 3d mark score i advice you trying raid 0
     
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,287 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,775
    I've hit 18,000 before with my rig. Why is he only hitting 15,000?

    20mmrain how do you uninstall/install your video drivers? I might see an issue in your rig that could improve your score.
     
  19. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    The Mail Man78 I uninstall my old drivers using first the add/remove programs. then I boot into safe mode and use the Driver Sweeper supplied by Guru3D. After that is done running once I boot back into safe mode and run it one more time just to check again. After I make sure they are gone with that program ...... I look in the registry just to make sure one more time...... Then I install the new drivers.

    I believe I am doing it right but maybe I am missing something. Maybe it is a setting that I am setting wrong in ATI CCC..... Who knows but If you got any further thoughts they are welcome.
    But It is weird like I said I am getting awesome Frame Rates in just regular gaming. There is no complaints there.

    Yeah I did just look at your specs Mail Man...... and with mine compared to yours I should at least score as well if not better. What the hell is up???? HMMMMMM Any suggestions guys????

    I might gain a few FPS with getting a designated sound card and NIC........ I understand it would be minimal but still would get a few..... less overhead for the CPU..... But now I'm just stretching!
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Not in vantage you didn't. Your are likely thinking of 06. A 4850 is not capable of 18k in vantage. Hell, I volt-modded one and could only get to almost 11k.

    And I figured out a long time ago that using driver sweeper is not needed anymore. Just uninstall them using the Install manager in add/remove programs.
     
  21. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    The way I see it if you can play all your games at settings you want, just stay the way you are. Thats where I'm at now why go to i7 when not needed yet. I got two rampage formulas
    and one rampage extreme plus an x48 gigabyte machine they all play games fine. For the price to go i7 wouldnt think it would be worth it. :D
     
  22. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    991 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    viczulis says thanks.
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,287 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,775
    Well I screwed up and thought you were running 06. I didnt relize you were running Vantage. For a Vantage score you're doing fine. ;)

    Also Wile E you are wrong. Sweaper is still needed AND I have TWO 4850s ;) My score is almost 13k in Vantage. Look at my specs.
     
  24. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Your probably right with the Vantage vs. 06 thing. He might be mistaken.

    You guys are probably both right. I shouldn't be worried about 15K stock and almost 17K GPU Score overclocked that is close to what it should be running anyway. I pretty much just being picky now.

    Also I know when I had the Core above 900 I had a total P score of P16500 and some. So I guess with out Physx and with the setup I got that is a great score.

    Plus like you and I have both said.... In realistic gaming I still get awesome Frame Rates! I'm not noticing anything different from an i7 in gaming only in benchmarks.

    So all in all I should just wait for the real 8 and 12 cores and not worry about it till then thanks guys!
     
  25. dan7777 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    big bottleneck losing about 3-4k in vantage
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page