1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What would you do with this hub?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MohawkAngel, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I just have 2 computers in my room so im using my old D-Link WBR-1310 but I would use this for small lan parties between friends.

    Anybody wanna be my friend??? Make reservation now only 23 places remaining:roll:

    What would you do with this old hub? No configuration needed it handle the switching by itself.
     
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    1) Take out the pcb with all the ports on it.
    2) Pitch the rest (or maybe fill the case with dirt and use it to start early garden plants indoors).
    3) Mod your case side panel so it looks like you have 24 ports built into your rig.
    4) Tell people nothing is in them because it's terabit ethernet and you can't find any compatible devices for it.
    5) Watch your e-peen grow to massive proportions.
     
    yogurt_21, scaminatrix and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This is hilarious! sorry Mohawk but kreij post was epic
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    It's ok dont worry i can take a joke without scalping someone :p but what you mean by e-peen ? :p Not natively speaking english bro hehehe
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Google it. :roll:
     
  7. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    LMGTFY?
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2011
  8. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    725 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    197
    I typically skip directly to step 5... Anyway, nothing very special there with only 10mbs hub altough a LAN on that would still be fine if you didn't have to send any game updates/patches to everyone. Personally, I'd take out the PCB's and make them into wall art along with the rest of my completely obsolete parts. The power supply might actually be useful for some project. I'm assuming it takes 120/230 VAC input and maybe puts out 12VDC.

    Edit: I assumed it was a switch, if it is truely only a hub then drop that sucker off a really tall bridge/building and watch the carnage. I've pitched an old CRT monitor from a car going 75mph before. It actually survived two pretty good bounces before its spectacular death with glass and plastic everywhere.
     
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I was serious :wtf: (except for the e-peen comment)
     
  10. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64

    not 22? as one is uplink :rolleyes:
     
  11. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    No its a hub with uplink switchable to put another hub on it with straight and cross-over cable you just have to trigger the switch the way you want it. But since its a hub also you can put the incoming internet cable anywhere nad still have the 23 free other ports. I tested it.

    Finally after reading the answers it could be good for a lan party poker game :p
     
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    At a LAN party, if everyone is connecting to a single server for the game, it will work just like a 10mb switch (a switch is really only advantagious if you have more than one source->destination pair ... although newer switches handle data throughput better than old ones).

    You should be able to play any games fine.
     
  13. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    you right, i ment minus you.

    :toast: on poker off topic; can we play at pokerstar or replaypoker? woud be fun,
    open techpowerup poker room ( replaypoker dos it) :laugh: may i open my first thread on general nonsens????


    Poker clubbhouse anyone? for relax on TPU
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page