1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What would you do with this old setup?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Krazy Owl, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Gigabyte GA-7ZX Socket A (462)

    AMD athlon 2400+ s/462 (2.0 gigs real)
    #AXDA2400DKV3C

    1.5 gig PC133 sdram

    Asus AGP-V7100 Magic (MX-400)

    What would you do with it?

    No I will not dump it and Yes I need intellignet answers.

    Thank you.
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Add a SATA 1.5Gbps PCI card and run it as a file/media/dlna server.
  3. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Could be an idea but I live in a bedroom only in people house. Not much place/use for this heheh dlna = downloading ?
  4. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Donate it to someone who wants it, if you don't have space to keep it.
  5. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    let's say I have another board that can handle the same cpu with the same chipset but with a maximum of 1 gig DDR 266 instead .... am I better with the 1 gig DDR266 or 1.5 gig pc133 ?
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Stick with the 1.5GB unless you can dig up another 1GB of ddr.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DLNA
  7. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I already have DDR400 512megs sticks
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  8. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    839 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    PFSense, m0n0wall, smoothwall router/vpn/firewall.
  9. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    that's chinese to me what you wrote...lol
  10. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,514 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,160
    You mean you share a house with others? Family? If so you can have a server for all of them, if you only have that room to yourself then sell it or donate it.
  11. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    No not family. I jut rent the room.
  12. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Ok thank you all for the advices.
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I agree here, unless you have some older IDE hdd's laying about that you can create a software span, using it as storage and sharing between the 2 pc's. That's pretty much the only use I can think of unless you want to keep it around as spare.
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,189 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,029
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It doesn't really sound like it has a purpose. I would give it away to someone who needs it if your needs are already met with your own rig. Honestly, think about it. It's an old machine. What can't a VM do that this machine can?
  15. Tonim89

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Juiz de Fora - MG / Brazil
    1 vote more for donation.
  16. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Is there a website describing how to make these setups? Prefereably in french but I could manage in english. Thank you
  17. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    That or just hold onto it and when you get your own place setup a vintage gaming rig with it, or just have the parts and create a small museum in your puter room with old parts. Actually I have a crap ton of old stuff and thats what I am doing with it all. I have some old rigs that run and other pieces of old stuff that I am going to make shadow boxes for. Of course the parts will not be harmed in anyway going into the boxes.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,071 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Run Quake II with hardware acceleration under Windows 98SE or XP. :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Funny you mention it because this videocard got 80 FPS at Quake 3 arena in 1280X1024 hehe
  20. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,071 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :toast: I have a similar system that I have Win XP on and play Quake II, Quake III Arena, Heretic, and NASCAR 2004. :p

    Your not playing with a virtual machine at them levels.:rockout:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    BTW what is a freaking virtual machine? a firewall computer.... i already have a firewall in my router and in my computer so whats the point of putting anothr computer to make another firewall????
  22. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I think I found what to do with it. I got here some PCI cards I wondered what to do with it. Modem V.92, USB 2.0 PCI, Firewire PCI card. I will put my 2400+ in a better board that has all onboard and dump in this one a Duron 1 gig with just enough memory for XP. Vintage multitasking rig to test all hardwares and things that connect to it.
  23. Suhidu

    Suhidu

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    163 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    [​IMG]
    Correct!


    They don't offer great graphic performance at this time unless you're sharing hardware direct(IOMMU/VT-d).
  24. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    From your earlier reply, Owl. Here's basically what I was talking about
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/304040

    Also, shouldn't need a monitor connected as if you wish to maintain it you can use a free version of teamviewer
    www.teamviewer.com

    EDIT:

    Also a good example of a VM, I can't run native Ubuntu and keep my wifi connectivity so I am limited to using a virtual machine to write/build my code for my android kernels.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page