1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What'd get hot while overclocking this particular card?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by [I.R.A]_FBi, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    everything... :/
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    serus? im talking within safe tolerances of course
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    That cooler is sufficient. Neither noisy, nor scorching.
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  5. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Thanks
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, the cooler might be "sufficient" for the GPU, but that's about it. The memory has no cooling except whatever hot air blows down on it from the GPU heatsink, and the VRMs have no cooling on them (very hot)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The cooling on this card is sufficient.
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    You said that already... And no, it's not sufficient. Remember when furmark was blowing up high-end 4xxx series cards and AMD fixed it with a driver release which retarded the card for that particular application? They didn't cool the card properly from the start, so they dumbed it down with drivers so it runs slower, thus cooler.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    That's HD 4830, and it's using four vGPU phases (well, 2+2). Not enough power from each phase to heat it enough, to warrant VRM cooling. Memory does well under the fan's direct air-flow. I maintain that the cooler is sufficient.

    And I don't have to be reminded of something that doesn't pertain much to this issue.
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,737 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    Location:
    US
    Furmark is BS. There's no reason what so ever for a app to stress any v card as much as that does.

    In fact i think it should be removed of the web...
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah dude I totally agree, we should totally buy computers just to let them idle and not be stressed because every stressful program was banished from the web/market because companies involved in creating hardware were too cheap to cool/design it properly. :rolleyes:

    If it can't run a program without failing, be it notepad.exe or OCCT Linpack, Quake or Furmark, it isn't stable.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    577 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    The cooler is sufficient for the card. However, it puts it right into your case so unless you have good case ventilation everything inside it will be heated.
  13. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    ok, my ambients are wicked hot
  14. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    I have a power color 4830 with a very very similar cooler to that msi and depending on the ambient temps it idles anywhere from 32C-36C at 50% fan speed. Right now it is pretty warm in here and its at 36C. But I have never seen it above 54C loaded. I will fully load the gpu and see what it gets up to right now.

    It is actually hovering between 35-36 right now idle

    EDIT: Alright full 100% load with fanspeed at 50% highest I got was 58C.

    YMMY though. This is just to show you that it would be sufficient. Though mine has RAM heatsinks and a VRM Heatsink also.
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2009
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  15. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    thank ye
  16. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Anything to help out :D
  17. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,574 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    358
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i would definitely say that card is perfectly fine at stock, otherwise they wouldn't sell it with the cooling or lack of cooling on it would they?

    EDIT: also if your looking to buy that card, as i assume you are for posting this, look at brooks' http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=99003
  18. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Furmark and especially OCCT are the only apps that are getting anywhere near the FLOPS figures AMD officially quotes for these cards...
  19. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK

    LOL i wish my 4890 would idle and load at those temps
  20. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    water cool it! :laugh:

    anyway, back on subject..... the cooler on this card shows me that is just fine for stock clocks + a few hz to reach Core Clock of 600MHz, but I do think that neither mem will OC well nor the vrm will handle a lot. Having said that the OC potential could be improved by adding coolers on both the mem chips and the vrms. Still, as it was mentioned before, all the heat will heat up the rest of the surounding components (most probably SB and possibly the NB), so make sure air flows correctly....
  21. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Its should be on the way
  22. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    577 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Furmark really isn't that bad at heating videocards. My 4870 only tops out at 75c during the benchmark with fan at 100%. Idle temp is 25c with 100% fan.

    What furmark is good for though is finding out if you have a weak or insufficient 12v rail in your psu because it will force the card to draw all the power it can from the psu.

    I found this out the hard way when furmark caused my rig to suddenly power down when it was run when I had a 500 watt PSU with 2 18A 12v rails. Apparently it would overload one rail and trip the overload protection.

    I bought a Corsair TX750W with a single 60A 12v rail and haven't had a problem since.
  23. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page