1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

whats a decent overclock on a AMD 7850x2 dual core

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by trt740, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    with stock voltage, not trying to get crazy but was wondering ACC is on auto
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2010
  2. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
  3. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  4. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    trt740 says thanks.
  5. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    fast little cpu dropped one in my inlaws computer , payed 50.00 for it, and it is a good deal for am2 chip but just ordered a quad PII 920 for him.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    its an original athlon, not an athlon II... so its not going to OC that great, or be that fast compared to the modern chips.
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I ran my 7750BE at 3GHz under stock voltage, but it would take more than stock voltage to hit 3.1GHz. The 7850 is a higher binned chip though, so your guess is as good as mine, but don't expect much more than 3GHz.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    it is the last and fastest Phenom X2, It is fast have been doing a bit of research on it appears it dors 3.4ghz to 3.6ghz and at stock 3.3ghz making it no slouch plus unlike other Am2 x2 chips it has level 3 cache. It hitting 3.3ghz on stock now 1.264v with acc on auto.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    its an athlon x2. not an athlon II, not a phenom, not a phenom II.

    thats like saying the highest clocked celeron is awesome, simply because it was the last of its generation.
  10. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    it's a phenomx4 with two cores disabled it is a phenomx2 trust me. I also never said it overclocked awesome. It is just the best of it's generation.
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    ...


    it says "athlon" about a million times.

    Regardless, its still old tech. my point still stands that they dont clock all that well.
  12. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,352 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
  14. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    For this generation at this voltage this is very good I think, and I wasn't asking if it overclocked well I was asking what to expect. It was a 50.00 am2 chip new in the box. His old board died last week before I recieved the next edition supporting am3 chips . For the money it was a great deal at the time. At 3.3 ghz it very close to a Regor 240 at stock because of the extra on chip memory.

    [​IMG]
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    The Athlon 64 x2 7850BE is a phenom. It's a dual-core phenom that's been given the Athlon name (much like the Pentium E2200 is a cut-down C2D chip). It's been unlocked to enable the other 2 cores before.

    Damn, why wouldn't my chip do 3.3GHz at 1.265v :(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    i was answering your question, if not specifically.

    "how does it OC?"

    "badly" (compared to athlon II/phenom II)

    3.3GHz is impressive enough on its own, from one of those.
  17. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    read it again whats a decent overclock on a AMD 7850x2 dual core with stock voltage. Thx for you impute this topics done now wasn't comparing only wanted to know what to expect on a 7850x2. I realize you were just trying to help.
  18. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,352 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    My bad.

    My 7750 is still truckin. ACC does nothing on my new board though, dang Kuma. Kuma's are good chips though, imo. Cool running with 3K+ clocks at an affordable price.
  19. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    ACC and a newer revision motherboard is most likely. This boards a 790gx really thats been downgraded. This is his new board I just recieved http://www.gigabyte-usa.com/Products/Motherboard/Products_Spec.aspx?ProductID=3314 and his old one wouldn't do more than 3.0ghz.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page