1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

whats a decent overclock on a AMD 7850x2 dual core

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by trt740, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    with stock voltage, not trying to get crazy but was wondering ACC is on auto
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2010
  2. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    383 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
  3. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  4. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    383 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    trt740 says thanks.
  5. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    fast little cpu dropped one in my inlaws computer , payed 50.00 for it, and it is a good deal for am2 chip but just ordered a quad PII 920 for him.
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,405 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,622
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    its an original athlon, not an athlon II... so its not going to OC that great, or be that fast compared to the modern chips.
     
  7. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,262 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Location:
    Ohio
    I ran my 7750BE at 3GHz under stock voltage, but it would take more than stock voltage to hit 3.1GHz. The 7850 is a higher binned chip though, so your guess is as good as mine, but don't expect much more than 3GHz.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    it is the last and fastest Phenom X2, It is fast have been doing a bit of research on it appears it dors 3.4ghz to 3.6ghz and at stock 3.3ghz making it no slouch plus unlike other Am2 x2 chips it has level 3 cache. It hitting 3.3ghz on stock now 1.264v with acc on auto.
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,405 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,622
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    its an athlon x2. not an athlon II, not a phenom, not a phenom II.

    thats like saying the highest clocked celeron is awesome, simply because it was the last of its generation.
     
  10. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    it's a phenomx4 with two cores disabled it is a phenomx2 trust me. I also never said it overclocked awesome. It is just the best of it's generation.
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,405 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,622
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    ...


    it says "athlon" about a million times.

    Regardless, its still old tech. my point still stands that they dont clock all that well.
     
  12. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    California, U.S.A.
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,405 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,622
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
  14. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    For this generation at this voltage this is very good I think, and I wasn't asking if it overclocked well I was asking what to expect. It was a 50.00 am2 chip new in the box. His old board died last week before I recieved the next edition supporting am3 chips . For the money it was a great deal at the time. At 3.3 ghz it very close to a Regor 240 at stock because of the extra on chip memory.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,262 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Location:
    Ohio
    The Athlon 64 x2 7850BE is a phenom. It's a dual-core phenom that's been given the Athlon name (much like the Pentium E2200 is a cut-down C2D chip). It's been unlocked to enable the other 2 cores before.

    Damn, why wouldn't my chip do 3.3GHz at 1.265v :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,405 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,622
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i was answering your question, if not specifically.

    "how does it OC?"

    "badly" (compared to athlon II/phenom II)

    3.3GHz is impressive enough on its own, from one of those.
     
  17. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    read it again whats a decent overclock on a AMD 7850x2 dual core with stock voltage. Thx for you impute this topics done now wasn't comparing only wanted to know what to expect on a 7850x2. I realize you were just trying to help.
     
  18. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    California, U.S.A.
    My bad.

    My 7750 is still truckin. ACC does nothing on my new board though, dang Kuma. Kuma's are good chips though, imo. Cool running with 3K+ clocks at an affordable price.
     
  19. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    ACC and a newer revision motherboard is most likely. This boards a 790gx really thats been downgraded. This is his new board I just recieved http://www.gigabyte-usa.com/Products/Motherboard/Products_Spec.aspx?ProductID=3314 and his old one wouldn't do more than 3.0ghz.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page