1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's better memory?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Azn Tr14dZ, Jun 30, 2006.

  1. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I'm currently overclocking my memory right now, what's better out of the two settings:
    200MHz (DDR 400) 2-3-3-6 1T, stock voltage
    or
    250MHz (DDR 500) 3-4-4-9 1T, 2.85v(What I currently have it on)

    Which one is better for games and such, and overall performance?

    -Azn
  2. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    I have no clue :D. What you could do, though, is run 3Dmark05 on stock settings, and then 3Dmark05 on OC'd settings, and that will tell you pretty quickly which one is better. That's actually the only way you can find out...lol.
  3. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I keep getting errors with the memory whenever I test it @ 2.85v. Zek, should I put it @ 3.5v even though it's only rated for 2.95?
  4. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    You shouldn't ask this question to someone with the options "auto", "normal", and "high" for memory voltage in BIOS :p.
  5. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    LOL....:roll:
  6. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    set it to 3v then start messing.
  7. rpg711

    rpg711 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    781 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
  8. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    Run a couple benchmarks and see the results, usually higher MHZ is better, work in 1T mode much preferred, and stable as much as possible 3-4-4-9 isn't as bad as it looks, specially at that speed! I wish I could push it as much.......... U must be in the 7GB/s in Sisoft Sandra (guessing).
  9. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    Past 3.3 volts, you might break your memory units if you don't have active cooling on them, specially where you live. 3 volts is my maximum.
  10. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I was around 7Gb/s, but wan't as stable as I wanted. I'm gonna get a fan on top of it, see how it goes.
  11. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I guess you're right. The memory is only rated for 2.95, but can go higher with cooling.
  12. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
  13. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    As long as you aren't annoyed by blinking blue lights, yes, that will do an amazing job.
  14. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Ok...lol

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page