1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Whats faulty?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ghost101, Jul 3, 2008.

  1. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Ok, so I was changing the cooler on my hd4850 to the accelero s1. After fitting it I put it in my system and wouldnt boot properly. Itd restart when the windows loading screen comes up. So I figure that the card must be overheating or something and refit. After doing it correctly and refitting the old HSF, theres no difference. I must have borked my card, right? So I use my backup card (2600XT) which is known to be working and I have the exact same problem. Restart at the windows loading screen. Memory passes memtest. Not a lack of power from my PSU either. It posts okay, cpu is at stock. Only keyboard and mouse is connected.

    So whats wrong?

    Thanks.
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    sounds like it might just be windows, try booting to a linux live cd
    ghost101 says thanks.
  3. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Yep, good idea. I'll check that after the next pass of memtest.
  4. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Ubuntu 6.06 is failing to load. Just wondering, does a live cd use the hard drive at all?
  5. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Don't think so, try resetting your cmos. I know you got everything at stock, but the symptoms are familiar of a bad oc.
    ghost101 says thanks.
  6. kyle2020 Guest

    COULD be cmos OR a problem i had - the card doesnt like not having a fan. Mine was a bit of a problem child for s few boots, now 'tis fine.
  7. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Resetting CMOS didnt work. Ive reinstalled original hsf with fan to no avail and used a different card. So not to do with fan detection.
  8. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Try repairing from the windows disc?
    ghost101 says thanks.
  9. kyle2020 Guest

    You might have damaged your card then unfortunately :(

    Keep us updated!
  10. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Cant be bothered to do that, since I dont have the sp1 windows disc it will screw things up. Currently trying to reinstall windows on a different hard disk. If this doesnt work, it has to be the motherboard.
  11. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Well, fresh installation has worked. Now to refit the s1. What a waste of time...

    Thanks for everyone's help.
  12. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,678 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    glad you got it working ghost :]
    ghost101 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page