1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Whats going on with my rig?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by p_o_s_pc, Jul 28, 2007.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I have been having alot of problems the last few days with my rig. I have been having random restarts and being unstable.When it first started to happen i set everything at stock speeds and timings and still was doing it. About 10min before typing this my rig shut off and won't turn on. There was no overheating i will include a SS of core temp to show what it has been running at most of the day.If you want specs click the system specs. I am starting to think it is the PSU because the light on the back of it turned off when it happened and even when plugging it into another outlet and still nothing.The other day the same thing happened but there was a pop when it happened.
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    it is working for now. Still you can give me some ideas of what would cause it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    have you tryed putting everything at stock settings ?
     
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Yes it does i take it as you didn't click the link in my sig a few days ago. I still can get it replaced it isn't that old maybe i can RMA it and get a refund and get a better PSU. Yes i have tried setting everything back to stock.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    I really have no need to look in somebody's for sale thread... :eek: I got no money for anything anyway
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    no not my FS there i HAD a thread about the hiper using the caps that start with an F(don't know how to spell it)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's decent but it's only 550 W. Unless you plan on getting an 8800GTX or 2900XT I would say it's fine.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    well sometime i want to get a 2900XT so that won't work.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    could someone give me a link to a PSU under $100 that can power a 2900xt or a 8800GTX
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
  13. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Ya i was looking at that.Will need to be sleeved. In a few hours i am going to see if i can get a RMA on my PSU from newegg the PSU i have now they don't sell anymore so i will get a full refund. I don't know there return policy on there PSUs maybe i should check.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    well never mind on the PSU i am stuck with a Hiper till i get the money to get a better one.So once again i am going to have to put off water cooling and a new video card.Neweggs refund is only 30days but maybe because they don't sell them anymore i will get a refund.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Thanks Hat.Before i do anything i would like another person to also tell me what it could be.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    BTW Hiper uses Fuhjyyu caps.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's what I meant by Fugyjjyouju-something-or-other :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Ya i know that i didn't know how to spell it but i found it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,783 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,344
    Beside the PSU, I think your computer doesn't like that background at all. :p
     
  20. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Clearly your tiled wallpaper! :twitch:

    Does your PSU smell?
    Is there a burning smell anywhere?

    Is anything shorted? Most PSU's should have OVP, which will disable the PSU, like a breaker, until power is completely cut for a few moments.
     
  21. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    get an apevia 680w. nice sleeved cables- i think they come in call kinds of uv colors, 3 nice led fans, built in fan controller, very solid psu. con: not modular.
     
  22. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I have checked and there is nothing shorted and this isn't the first time.It happened more when i had my x1950pro.There is not burning smell anywhere but sometimes you can smell a electric smell a few minutes before it happens.Also what is wrong with my wall paper?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Apevia psus suck and will melt under high load, killing the psu and other things in your rig, sorry to say it but you really need to not reccomend psus man. A hd2900 would easily overload that psu.

    Go look at Hardocp's psu review section, they have some stellar reviews for good psus.
     
  24. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    The only other computer i have is a P3 and it can be powered by a 120w PSU so i don't think it will stress it to find out if it is it. I have found a PSU that i want
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817233002
    I forgot to chat with newegg to find out if i can RMA this i don't see the list of stuff i can. I will take care of that monday. Tell me if you think i should try it in the P3 rig also what do you think of the Gigabyte PSU?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page