1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's gone wrong with my Live Mail font? It went myopic! [solved]

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Black Panther, Jul 5, 2012.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    [​IMG]

    It's like when I forget to wear my contacts! :laugh:

    This happened after I installed the latest driver:
    I haven't encountered any other problems. Text is displayed fine and crisp in the body of the email, and you can note even the toolbar is fine. No problems at all in other programs like my web browser or office etc...

    What can I do to solve this?
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,395 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,470
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    is mlaa enabled?
    Black Panther says thanks.
  3. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,025 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    :wtf: Whoa..
    Never had anything like that happen to me..lol.. Maybe some windows theme adjusted for best performace?
  4. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,761 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    Black Panther, Clean out your cookies and retest.
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    Tbh I just let the settings be the same as they were installed.
    I have morphological filtering set at x8 but isn't that for 3D apps?
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,882
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have to go with daves suggestion. MLAA causes this as well.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    254
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    From what i remember its always on even when just looking at our desktop screen :)
  8. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    Thanks Dave, removing morphological filtering worked.

    Weird though how this had to occur with this driver. I had always left MLAA that way before. It's the first time it caused this problem for me.
    cadaveca says thanks.
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    840
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    MLAA caused this in its first iterations, but not now with MLAA 2.0. They fixed this like 2-3 months after initial MLAA release.
  10. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    992 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    this seems to be MLAA forced on indeed. Happened to me once aswell
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,395 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,470
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I figured as much, obviously. I dunno what's up with newer AMD drivers, but me no like 'em, for sure.

    I've been recommending 11.11c with most recent APP profiles as of late, for those not using 7-series cards. Spent a fair bit of time earlier this year testing every driver since 10.9.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page