1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's good price for 8gigs DDR2-800?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by JunkBear, Feb 19, 2014.

  1. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    684 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Canada
    Like the title says I am looking to know what could be a good price for 2 sticks of 4gigs DDR2-800?

    Friend of mine sold me a nib AsRock G31M-GS R2.0 skt 775 for 30$ and it can take up to Quad Core 2 Extreme.

    I guess this setup could last long for me if I put all the memory and a decent cpu.

    I will look over at local stores later on for shopping.

    Thank you.

    EDIT: I could also find a laptop memory set and buy these adapters: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/DDR2-laptop-...1256761?pt=US_Memory_RAM_&hash=item4d13001eb9
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2014
  2. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,269 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
  3. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    684 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Canada
    Way too expensive lol. I will stick to 4 gigs hehe
     
  4. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,848 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,629
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Ahhhh the good old days of 1.9v :)
     
  5. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    684 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Canada
    What is the regular voltage of newer ddr3 ?
     
  6. ZetZet

    ZetZet

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    185 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Lithuania
    1,35 or 1,5 or 1,65
     
  7. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    684 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Canada
    ok thank you and some DDR2 had 1.8v like my kingston here.
     
  8. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,848 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,629
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I used to run overclocked DDR 2 at 2.3v back then lol, I think you would definatly smell burning with modern DDR3 at those volts.
     
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,340
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    In all honestly, I would just get 4x2Gb as this machine probably won't ever need more than 8GB in the long run due to its age. 4GB DIMMs are pretty high density for DDR2. It's like buying an 8Gb DDR3 DIMM. You'll be paying a premium price for it.
     
  10. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,442 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I believe that motherboard only has two slots...

    AsRock G31M-GS R2.0

     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,340
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Thanks. I stand corrected.

    I would also be careful. I used to have a 975X board with an E6600 that said it "supported" DDR2-800 but neglected to mention that 2GB DIMMs must be 667Mhz. So I would make sure it actually supports two 4GB sticks at 800 if you're going to go that route.

    Edit: The thing is, if you look at Intel's ark page for the G31, it says the max supported by the chipset is 4GB, and it says that's per CPU, not per DIMM. I would still be cautious.

    http://ark.intel.com/products/31913/Intel-82G31-Graphics-and-Memory-Controller?q=G31

    The G31 feature document also says 4GB.
    http://www.intel.com/assets/pdf/prodbrief/317838.pdf

    For example. MSI's page for my late 975X Platinum Power Up says 533/667/800 is supported, however the ark page says only 533/667 is and come to find out 800 didn't work. I'm inclined to believe Intel's ark page.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2014
  12. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    684 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Canada
    This mobo support it but put automatically under 667 for compatibility. I just put on manual mode at 800mhz.
     
  13. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    don't know where your at with all this but if you are interested in doing something on a budget with an older system then I may have a sweet deal for you on the core of my system that I want to upgrade. im talking about 8GB 1066 ddr2 ram, Q9550 cpu, and ga-p35-ds3l motherboard. (see my specs)

    drop me a PM and I will give more details otherwise here are some ram choices in the $60 range
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007611 600006042 600006066 600006107&IsNodeId=1&name=DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)&Order=PRICE&Pagesize=20
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2014
  14. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    684 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Canada
    Motherboard is new. I have a dual core cpu but waiting my friend upgrade he will lend me a Q6600. This mobo take only DDR2-800 max so thx anyway.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page