1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's next? GFX or new Monitor?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by JoshBrunelle, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. JoshBrunelle

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    258 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I want to upgrade a single component at this point. I'll throw about $200 or so at whatever needs to be upgraded. I would predict most people would say graphics, but my monitor is also a measly 19" 4:3. Those would really be my 2 choices, what does everyone else think?

    BTW right now at the egg there is a 19" Wide that runs 1680x1050 for $160
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2008
  2. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,480 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Is you GPU the 512MB GTS? If so I would say go with a new 22" monitor, but I don't know if you could get such a good quality one for $200.

    If it's the G80 GTS 320MB I would get a new graphics card, and for $200 I would get the HD 4850.
     
  3. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,229 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    u wont get a super nice monitor if ur stuck at $200. Just that acer on newegg is $220ish
     
  4. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    461
    Location:
    East TN
    I'm in the same situation, But i believe i'm getting a montior. I found a nice LG 20" for $240 i believe.
     
  5. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Get a new monitor before getting a new graphics card. Your 8800GTS is still good for today's games even if it is a G80.

    BTW, that Acer 22" LCD Monitor from the Egg is pretty darn good for ~$220.
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Grab up the monitor Josh IF you don't game as often anymore.

    Dual 19" FTW! :D
     
  7. JoshBrunelle

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    258 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I can throw another 20-30 down if need be, and yea its a G80 320MB, it was great back in the day. I was thinking 4850 or a 22 wide. Would my gts be able to run 1680x1050 fairly well? I really would rather not have to get both a card and a monitor. (I'd probably go up to 250 or so if I went for the monitor)
     
  8. tylerward

    tylerward New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    I'll trade you my Monitor (IBM P260) which is excellent for your graphics card. If you have an 8800gts and a monitor (the one I'll give you) and buy a new graphics card then your set.

    I really would do that
     
  9. JoshBrunelle

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    258 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    CRT? no thanks :slap:
    I think I'm gonna go grab up the 22 acer from the Egg or maybe the sammy for 250AR.
    Now I just need to wait for my next paycheck to get things goin.
     
  10. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I'm getting both soon :p . lol.

    But in your case I would get the monitor. Also if you a CRT now, if you measure it I guarantee it wont be the stated size of 19. Be more like 17-18. Now a LCD screen is the size it says on the tin, lol!

    Cant wait to get my Acer 22inch!
     
  11. JoshBrunelle

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    258 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I sure as hell dont have a CRT, haven't had one of those beasts in a long time. That IBM beast sucks up 145 Watts under normal use, never mind the size/heat/weight. Tyler you'll have to find someone else for that thing.
     
  12. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Mr. Skip! :roll:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page