1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's the best 92 mm cooler out there?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by [I.R.A]_FBi, Sep 7, 2009.

  1. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
  2. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Ultima 90....as far as I know its the best small cooler.
     
  3. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
  4. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,163 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,712
    If you have about 1" to spare you can stuff in the CoolerMaster Hyper N 520 in there. Its a good 92mm cooler.

    Conveniently there is one FS in the B/S/T Forum HERE
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    What's your idle temps at the moment, and what are the ambient room temps?
     
  6. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    [​IMG]

    case is wide open
     
  7. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Wow, GPU temps are crazy high too.

    I'm not sure if a new heatsink is going to make a difference*, I somehow your going to have to tackle ambiet temperatures!


    * I say this as my own Artic Freezer 7 pro idles an e5200 @ 30c ( 40c core temps) ( ambient temps of 20c or so)
     
  8. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    gpu hit 99 yesterday
     
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I think investing in an Air conditioning unit may be a better idea.

    A better cooler will still only be ambient temp minimum, and most air coolers I've seen are above ambient temps by a fair bit anyway.
     
  10. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  11. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Look at his idle temps TRT, the ambient temps are effecting his cooling to much, look at reviews on frostytech most air coolers are 10c+ above ambient unless you have an energy efficient or low powered processor.

    His CPU temp isn't even core temp and its super high.

    I don't think air cooling will cut it, although this is speculation, I still need to know what the temperatures around you are like.


    Because from looking at CPU idle temp it must be at least 35 c ambient temperature.**

    Unless the heatsinks are all dirty.

    If I'm wrong about that then I have no clue at all! unless you didn't put on the cooler properly, and the one on your video card isn't work also D:
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2009
  12. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    ambient is like 40 :|

    im an unemployed student in a third world country, a/c is a luxury i cant afford
     
  13. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Okay then you need to ventilate your computer room!

    Think PC case : ]

    You need an exhaust fan and an input fan in your room.

    This will help ambient room temperatures ALOT.

    Other then that air coolers only work as well as the air around them, I'm guessing water cooling is out of the question too?
     
  14. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,163 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,712
    It gets into the 100s where I live and I do not use A/C either, but my temps have never been that bad (other than my GTX+ hitting 95 but it has an interesting HS). Panther is definitely on the right track here work on airflow.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    I cant get more airflow without giving up some privacy or security :(
     
  16. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,163 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,712
    Between a rock and a hard place there. Well, the Q will probably run cooler than that PentiumD anyway. Clean up those wires and buy a box fan to run directly on the case and see what happens. The room I used to run my Q6600 got HOT and the cores very rarely would hit 76C on 100+ days. So you should be able to shave a few degrees without too much work.
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Damn.... so no open windows or anything like that?

    Even just have a fan as an exhaust out of your computer room would help a great deal.

    Edit : if your good at DIY and such like maybe a self build Air conditioner like this http://www.instructables.com/id/Portable-12V-Air-Conditioner---Cheap-and-easy!/ may help.

    If that one is untheasable or unpracticle check around on the site for other ones, hope it helps !


    Although I would make one modification to there design, one input fan one output fan rather then both output, that way you can keep the lid shut :p
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2009
  18. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    I have 2 windows, one which is very high and allows rain to blow in which is still open anyway 24-7 and one low window right by a walkway ... i cant leave that open for privacy or security reasons when im there in the days though i open the door and the other window and still get those temps.
     
  19. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Try an exhaust fan at the high window, if that makes no difference ( it may take up to an hour to see any differences in CPU temp) then the temperature in general is just to much.

    I think a better cooler may help with maximum temps, but with ambient temps like those I'm not sure it be a huge amount..

    The best option would be water cooling, again this won't be able to take things below ambient as eventually the water will be the same temperature as the air, but it will maybe 5c lower idle, perhaps more.

    I'm not really sure what to suggest other then that.
     
  20. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,612 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    I know you boys are pretty crafty, I've seen your bobsled team;)

    Maybe a home brew water loop if you can locate a block and a pump, Im sure you can find some tube and a rad from a car heater or something.
     
  21. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    SneakyPeet has a Noctua NH U9B for sale in the FS section.
     
  22. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,612 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    yes I do:)
     
  23. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    +1 to this, would make a could project log as well :D
     
  24. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    what would consist of a good loop to end my heat woes?

    edit: this is my gpu

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2009
  25. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    A Radiator, one from a car or motor cycle will the cheapest to get, even old ones from abandoned vehicles will be better then nothing, just make sure you run them clean before you use them in your loop, also cleaning of rust if possible.

    Tubing, I'm not sure about gauges etc another member will be best to ask.

    Water block for your cpu , this will be one of a few investment items needed, this may cost you as much as mid top end air cooler anyway, unless you can get one fabricated locally for cheaper.

    Pump, not sure of these maybe a regular pump of any sort could be adapted for use.

    Resevior, I think its just something to hold the water, I also think I'm wrong on that part ask another member.

    Fans, any will do just get the size that fits your radiator.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page