1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's the best budget motherboard for overclocking?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by nflesher87, Jun 28, 2007.

  1. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    Title says it. I'm looking for either AM2 or LGA775 so if anyone has heard of one that's great for overclocking and is really cheap please speak up!!!

    :) Thanks,

    Nathan
     
  2. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    My new mobo was pretty cheap (about £50) and Ive got my E6420 (2.13GHz) running at 2.67GHz using stock cooling, but Im sure it would go more :)
     
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  3. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    that's cool man, plus 6420s are notorious for overclocking really high, you should invest in a bit better cooler and push it :)
     
  4. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Mine is good too but doesn't support Core 2 Duo's. I run my P4 @ 3.82Ghz fully stable ON AIR:toast:
     
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,051 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,803
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    NFlesher, what kind of a "cheap" budget you got to work with here?

    DS3's are fairly cheap, so is the G.Skill memory I use (last I checked the 2x1gb HZ kit costs $120 incl. shipping, I paid twice that 6 months ago...still damn happy with them though!), and soon so are more Intel C2D's...

    Plus DS3's are pretty damn good OC'ers! I hear the NB Heatsink should be replaced though...
     
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  6. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Those new gigabyte mobos are actually really good... I can't believe I am reccommending gigabyte but I have bought 4 of them in the last fe months and they oc really well...

    Its the Gigabyte GA-965P-S3 series, there is the S3 then the DS3 etc....

    I put a E4300 in a S3 last week and it went straight up to 3.2 gig, the bios options are pretty good too.

    From memory they are around 110 bucks Aussie.
     
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  7. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    well I'm looking for less than or equal to $100
     
  8. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,051 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,803
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Just for the MB? Personally I'd say go with the best deal on a gigabyte board, Drunkenmafia has it right, they have gotten better and do OC quite well! If you could shell out a few more bucks a P5B Dlx is a good option also, I am at 480FSB, making my 1.86 6300 a 3.36 beast! I love this MB, but generally DS3's come very close to the P5B Dlx for less money.
     
  9. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
  10. Wayward

    Wayward New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I'd recommend the Biostar T-Force 550 SE for AM2. It's only $80 at the egg, and it's got overclocking options like the high end boards. Very precise voltage control and everything.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138071

    It's an amazing board. Took a 1.9Ghz Brisbane to 3.0Ghz on air with this thing. Probably could push it further, but I was satisfied with that oc. :cool:
     
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  11. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    For AM2 a biostar tforce550 will do the job. For 775 prettymuch any 965 based mobo.
     
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,035 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Ohio
  13. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    k, what's the difference between the P965 and G965?
    Edit: nevermind haha G is micro atx form factor sorry!
     
  14. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    for 775 the 650i ultra/sli boards clock very well (though avoid the ecs, its pci-e slots are 'hardwired' in 2x8 for sli, and its crap), or if you can find one cheap enough, an asus p5k

    for am2 i'd have to say the biostar t550 (or their 570/590 boards if within budget)
     
  15. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks for all the input people, I think I've decided on the biostar tforce550 if i purchase!
     
  16. {Sniping}Waste

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    You might take a look at a Gigabyte GA-MA69G-S3H for AM2. Its $86.99 at newegg and I was able to hit in windows stable with super PI running 420HTT. There are some things you will need to do for high end OCing like add a fan or replace the north bridge heat sink and add a small heat sink on the clockgen because it gets hot above 360HTT. This mobo has better audio then the Biostar Tforce 550 with its new Realtek 889A codec. Here is a link to newegg.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128052

    And for any one that can't believe it can hit 420HTT there is a pic and all the OCing was done from BIOS to.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Wayward

    Wayward New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    That board would also be a good choice. However I'm sticking with my TForce550SE recommendation.

    The audio may not be as good, but the TForce has a truly incredible BIOS in it's favor. The tweakability is amazing. It can adjust voltages for practically everything, in a precise manner like the high-end boards.

    Updating the BIOS is easy as that is a built in feature. Just throw in a disk with the file, and update through the BIOS menu. No special programs or MS-DOS booting required. The BIOS even has memtest-86+ built in!

    Then, you have the stock NB cooler, which is active already. No need to modify it (although I have, :cool:). That means it will be cheaper overall to the overclocker, even though it costs less to begin with. :)

    I also consider the lack of onboard video a plus, as it can get in the way. Finally, it has more PCI slots which may or may not be important to you (it was to me). I've built three machines using that board so far, and I intend to do so again.
     
  18. {Sniping}Waste

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    The gigabyte mobo has a high end BIOS with CPU +.55V max, Vdimm max at 2.4V, and +1.25V for HTT links/northbridge. The memory setting are over 20 different timming settings with HTT signal drive strengths settings too. This mob should be able to max a CPU out very easily.
     
  19. Wayward

    Wayward New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    It's a good board. No doubt about it. I guess it's all up to personal preference here. :D
     
  20. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    True, Im looking at getting the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro ;)
     
  21. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    is there much of a difference between the Biostar tforce 550 and 570sli? I was thinking it might be nice to have the option to go sli down the road for only $15 more now
     
  22. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    DS3 is the best in that range a true unreal bang for the buck board. This is also the newest revision which has a better power phase system designed to overclock a quad core and better sound plus the chip set is newer revision helping manage memory better. Buy the lower end intel chips they are better and I'm a AMD fan boy. Paired with this chip the ds3 can do a FSB of 470 to 490. Your looking at faster than a top end E6800 when overclocked. This ultra cheap sytem would surpass a 6000+ system overclocked to 3.3ghz and that a great deal for the money.

    http://www.clubit.com/product_detail.cfm?itemno=CA4830994

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116037
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2007
  23. Wayward

    Wayward New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I'm not really sure about the 570sli. I've never used it myself, so I really can't help you there.

    I will say consider carefully. Ask yourself if you would really do sli in the future. Often it winds up that a single mid to high-end board beats out two lower end boards for less cost. Unless you will be sli'ing two good or high-end boards, it really isn't worth it.
     
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  24. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    after hearing that wayward I totally agree, 550 it is :)
     
  25. Wayward

    Wayward New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Alright, then let me prepare you for the experience. :)

    You may need to flash the BIOS, depending on which one it arrives with. Mine came pre-flashed with the latest, but if it doesn't, then update it before you install windows. People have had major issues installing with earlier BIOS revisions. Flashing with the TForce series is easy though, just throw in a disk with the file, and let the built-in software do the rest.

    The BIOS itself is really deep, but don't get thrown off by all the options. There is a relatively well hidden option that forces memtest-86+ to boot first (just enable/disable then save to use). There are automatic overclocking settings, but you aren't a noob, so use manual. :D

    Once in manual, you can adjust every single memory timing, boost the voltage, tweak your htt, etc. It's an overclockers dream budget board.

    Finally, as of right now, newegg is selling two TForce 550's. Same price, but get the SE version. It's the latest revision of the hardware, and having used both, I'd say the SE is marginally better.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page