1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Whats the best CPU to go with my GPU?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by almighty, May 8, 2007.

  1. almighty New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ive decided to get this mobo :

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MB-005-AK&groupid=701&catid=5&subcat=

    Now the only problem is i dont know what spec CPU to get with it :(

    Ive been looking though these :

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/productlist.php?groupid=701&catid=6&subid=803

    Now for a few things i need help with :

    1. Will they work with that my mobo?

    2. Whats the BEST MATCH for my GPU and RAM? Im running a saphire X1950 PRO AGP and gig of DDR PC3200.

    I dont want a CPU thats going to bottleneck my GPU and yet i dont want to spend more then i have on a CPU they i have to. Or can anyone recomend a better package?

    Sorry for the newb questions, im new to this whole PC upgradeing stuff.

    Regards almighty :toast:
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    youll have to change the ram to use that proc and mobo. Its AM2 socket and that uses DDR2 ram. Also, Lots of folks swear the X2 3600+ AM2 Brisbanes are awesome beasts to overclock, granted its in the right board ( I think they mention the BioStar T550 mobo). You could also get that X2 6000+ as Trt470 has a thread going on about it and its amazing overclocking potential.

    All of those are great matches for what you want, but again, you will have to change your memory to DDR2. Id say something in the Gskill, OCZ, Corsair, Adata, Patriot, Crucial, Kingston flavors :) (Buffalo Firestix are pretty awesome too I hear)
  3. almighty New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Right that options out the window, ive just brought this memory so im not gonna change it, does anyone know a of relativly cheap AGP mobo that supports dual core ( either X2 or core duo, prefer X2 ) that will compliment my X1950 PRO AGP?
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Here is an Asrock one on Newegg. However, its on Autonotify, meaning out of stock.


    Here is one from CompUSA, its Gigabyte. However, it too is sold out.



    Here is a link to Ebay for an ECS mobo with via K8T890 chipset. Its in stock <G> and for $40 plus shipping

    Hope that helps. You could also try the Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveway forum here. Folks are selling stuff all the time.
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Or you could sell that memory and old mobo and get am2 :)
  6. almighty New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Are pentium D dual caore processors any good? will they botlleneck my X1950 PRO?
  7. almighty New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  8. almighty New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Anyone? Help? Please?
  9. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Well, to start with if you want to go AM2 you have to kiss bye-bye to that AGP 1950Pro otherwise its like shooting yourself in the nuts. After that a good CPU to go with a VGPU of that class would be a 4400+ X2 OCd. I would go elsewhere for your mobo and CPU tho, OCuk are among the worst I have found for mobo and CPU prices.

    X2 4400 £70, for the same money on OCuk you can only get a X2 4200+

    Assuming overclocking isnt your thing (and you will pay a premium for a decent OCing board) this M2N SLi Dlx for £66 is an excellent choice with very high quality audio (you will need the .6110 drivers available off the asus website), robust and reliable, quiet, and should you want to dip your feet into OCing at a later stage it has the options in which to get a half decent OC out of it.

    Lastly would be DDR2 RAM, again assuming your on a budget and not a OCer, you can get a Kingston PC2-5300 1GB kit (2x512MB) for £31 or a 2GB kit for £60.
  10. almighty New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ive already said im keeping EVERYTHING but the mobo and CPU, and that includes my DDR RAM and X1950 PRO.
  11. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Your call, but as anyone can testify to whos done it, mixing old technology with new only ultimately ends in the user spending more as usually they have to upgrade sooner.
  12. almighty New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    As far as im concerned the only "old" tech is my memory, ive only had my X1950 for a while and it out-performs rather alot of PCI-E cards so its staying for now. This is just a cheap upgrade to last me until Vista because a mature OS and DX10 is used more commonly in games, then ill do a COMPLETE upgrade with new everything.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page