1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's the easiest way turn turn keyboard keys into "turbo" mode?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Ozpa, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Hello! :)

    I'm in need to make certain keyboard keys "turbo" mode, meaning you would spam a key while holding down the button. Just like text like editors spam a key if you hold it but not all applications perceive holding a key as "turbo". Hopefully windows can do it without any additional software or whatever really :)

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,089 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    767
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    I dunno maybe moving your finger up and down? What program and how quickly do u need it spammed
     
  3. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Could try messing with the repeat rate in Control Panel?
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    Depends on the keyboard but this is what macros are for.
     
  5. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    ShiBDiB: It needs to be spammed really quick, I can't mimic it by just pressing fast and my fingers would be tired in no time haha.

    INSTG8R: The repeat rate only work in text editors and text boxes like the one you use on this forum to type in your text but doesn't work in other cases/programs.

    sneekypeet: I've got the Logitech G15 v1, it has macros on the side but I need to make the regular keys on the keyboard in turbo mode not the macro keys on the side.
     
  6. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    I ALSO have a G15 and you can use the "G Keys" to make macros using ANY key on the keyboard that is what they are there for. If you want G15 to press "F" 50 times in a row you just have to make the macro that does it.
     
  7. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    That's the whole point - I cannot use any additional keys. I'm sorry if I was not clear in the 1st post about it. I need to make my "regular"(not G-keys or special macro keys) go turbo mode. I hope I'm clear.
     
  8. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    If you make a macro using "regular" keys they will be recognized as exactly that. Not sure what the problem is here. If you make "G18" as "F" it will be "F" just like you pressed "F" Outside of that I'm afraid there is no solution to your problem. Any program that is going to allow you to do that is going to involve keystroke mapping.
     
  9. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
  10. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    But essentially his keyboard already has the software to do that already.
     
  11. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    The repeat key function (turbo or key spamming as you called it) is a function of the operating system.
    When the keys are held down, Windows stuffs the keystrokes into the keyboard buffer.
    If the application that you are running diposes of the keystrokes and only allows keystrokes at a certain rate there is nothing you can do to make it take them faster.
    If the application is ignoring the buffer (not disposing, just not reading the buffer) you will get a keyboard buffer overflow and the computer will start beeping at you.

    You may not be able to achieve what you want with a macro (or anything else) depending on how the application is written.
     
  12. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,089 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    767
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Still never answered what application?
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  13. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    INSTG8R: I don't want to use the G keys, nor do I want to create a macro on those keys. What I need is to make my REGULAR keyboard keys go "turbo" spam mode in all applications so that it would recognize as if I'm mashing the button while I'm just holding it down.

    PVTCaboose1337: That's a neat program, except that I can't find where it could make my buttons go turbo.

    Kreij: I can imitate a turbo button by creating a macro of a single key press that repeats itself while the G-key is held down with a 10ms repeat delay and it works great. But the problem is I need the regular keys turn turbo instead.

    ShiBDiB: Sorry I didn't answer earlier, it's a DirectDraw thingy/game/application.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page