1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's The Shortest HD 7970 ?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Durvelle27, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I want to know what's the shortest HD 7970 as i plan to upgrade mines. My case is a Cooler Master Storm Scout and only supports cards up to 10.6". I googled this question but got no answer.
     
  2. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,065 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,661
    You'll need a non-reference card if you're looking for something short. Maybe that will help your search?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,485 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
  4. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
  5. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    You could get creative with one of these...
     
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,313 (7.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,795
    a 7969.5
     
    Jstn7477 says thanks.
  7. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,559 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,253
    I'm manofthem, and I approve this choice to buy a 7970 ;)
    :toast:
     
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
  9. adulaamin

    adulaamin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Location:
    Baguio City, Philippines
    I have that card in my system right now... The only thing I don't like about it is it doesn't have heatsinks for the VRM/RAM (Are those really needed?)... I maxed out the sliders on CCC for OC and it ran stable although I'm only running at stock at the moment... I never really tried tinkering the card to see at what clocks it maxes out... :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    if it doesn't have Heatsinks on the VRM/RAM then it wouldn't oc as good as other options and i plan to oc high as i can get so i might go for a HD 7950
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    Maybe you should look into a different case so you're not limiting yourself on what hardware you can buy?
     
  12. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    i was thinking about doing that but i'm also going to upgrade my processor so i can't get a new case unless i trade it or something
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page