1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

whats up with my hdd?..

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Enmity, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    hey guys, i have recently been getting an issue with my E:/ which is use to install a lot of my games, apps and documents. When i boot up check disk says the E:/ needs to be checked for consistancy then when it tries to detect the drive it says check disk failed as it could not get direct access and to please use system restore.

    Ive been into system restore and restored back to the state my pc was in a few days ago before i encountered this issue but check disk still runs this check, and fails upon each reboot.

    Ive used windows 7 to try and "solve PC issues"...it finds a disk volume error but does nothing about it...How can I fix this? it's probably just a case of uninstalling the most recent game or app i installed on that drive right?...how can I find out what files are the culprit?.

    Thanks for your help!
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,610 (13.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,001
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,137 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    Sounds like total destruction of th HHd man... Format time is about the only thing to bring your drive back up to snuff!
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,137 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    I have ssd errors and HDTune show A.O.K but windows shows corruption on 53 sectors
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,610 (13.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,001
    Running HDTune, especially the error checking on a SSD is ruining the drive. HDTune is in no way meant for SSD's.
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,137 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    No, only doing a benchmark hurts the ssd. Doing a random Quick Disk check dont do shit.
  7. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Update : so ive finished work and just got home. been running HD tune error checking on my 1TB Samsung drive - so far its scanned 225gbs without any errors so i'll report back once it's finished with the results and/or screenies if needed. thanks for your help so far.
  8. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    So the error checking has finished...and it had no errors :S...weird, once i finish downloading this win 7 SP1 i'll give the pc a reboot to see if checkdisk still tries to initiate.
  9. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,344 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,562
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Sounds like your hard disk has the dirty bit set and will not clear.
    You may need to dis-able your A\V software to do this; but, try it without doing so first.

    Assuming that E: is the drive letter...
    Open an admistrative command prompt
    Type "fsutil dirty query e:" (without the quotes)
    If, it comes back dirty, then type "chkntfs /x e:" (without the quotes) - this will dis-able the chkdsk at boot.
    Now, re-boot and open the adminstrative command prompt.
    Type "chkdsk /f /r e:" and let it check for errors, if, none are found... great.
    Now, type "fsutil dirty query e:" and see, if it is not dirty now.
    If it is not dirty type "chkntfs /d" to restore the chkdsk utility to it's correct state.

    If you cannot get it to clear the dirty bit or it keeps re-setting; then, you may need to clone an image of the drive for backup.
    Re-partition and format the drive.
    Run the manufacturer's disk testing software.
    And, then restore the image.

    If the problem returns, you may need to contact the manufacturer and return for RMA, if it is still under warranty.

    Goodluck:)
  10. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    95Viper - thank you! that has fixed the problem. I ended up having to manually run chkdsk and dismount the drive first. It found and corrected the issue - which funnily enough was my bfbc2 settings.ini file??? dunno what happened there. But anyway I restored chkdsk to its default state and now theres no hdd corruption (for now anyway)

    Thank you very much :)
    95Viper says thanks.
  11. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,344 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,562
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Thank You for letting us know your results.:toast:
    And, glad we could help.:)

    If you found our post useful... click the Dam* THANK YOU button. Just joking.:laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page